Engaged State vs Friendlies

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por Enolkys, 20 Mar 2023.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. Enolkys

    Enolkys Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2021
    Mensajes:
    39
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    Easy Q
    If you have two opposing models in CC and a 3rd walks around and templates a shotgun at the enemy model only (not his friend), does the rule for Engage State affect both and they both need to save, or does the rule for Templates not able to hit friendlies apply and thus the shotgun cannot be used.

    Engaged state has a line with a bold on the ALL for ;
    - Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers in Engaged state will always affect all participating Troopers, even if the placement of the Template would only affect one of them.

    Thanks
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    The template will be cancelled because it is affecting a friendly, even if the template only physically touches the enemy model.
     
    A Jumara y Papa Bey les gusta esto.
  3. Enolkys

    Enolkys Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2021
    Mensajes:
    39
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    Then why is that line in the Engaged State?
    (Have this chat with friends also) Why can I murder hobo blast a B5 AP HMG into two models in CC but cannot pick up a shotgun and do a single template and hope my HI walks away better or just takes a wound and walks away later?
    The rule as written says I can template and it will affect them both, but then why a conflicting rule?
     
  4. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.388
    Use the impact mode and you can do the same. :D
    I would hazard that since normally a template attack is cancelled for hitting your own dudes, this just ensures you can't get automatic hits by "just covering the enemy" and bypassing that -6 additional penalty.
     
    A colbrook le gusta esto.
  5. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    It's also leaving the possibility to attack an enemy Engaged with a neutral trooper or another enemy in a 3+ player game.

    I think it also means that Smoke/Eclipse will affect both the Engaged troopers, even if only one is touching the template.
     
    A Jumara le gusta esto.
  6. Enolkys

    Enolkys Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2021
    Mensajes:
    39
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    But a missile blasts out from the direct target and seems to reference if a model and a non cc model were close but not in CC (and is a friend) then you cant call down a missile and vaporize your buddy.
    But the wording in engaged state reads as overwriting that rule.

    What is also odd is I see people quoting rules and then adding "I think" in the wording. (sorry colbrook to use you) but do I need some one to verify or is everyone speculating here and interpreting what they think or what they have been told over time and never re confirmed it?
     
  7. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.388
    On my end, this goes into game design space and I'm not one of them.

    Some of this goes back in time to when you could put an Impersonation marker in close proximity to a valuable unit so they couldn't fire missiles or the like (which at the time, didn't have hit modes) and cancel attacks since Impersonation markers are "friendly".
     
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    That's because I didn't have time to look it up on the wiki, didn't want to make a definite comment without looking it up. Having time now it appears smoke creates a Zero Vis zone the size of the template, and zero vis zones don't appear to be contagious like a template weapon is.

    I will point out though that the Template rules are pretty explicit that you can't template into a Close Combat

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Template_Weapons_and_Equipment

    Template Weapons Into Close Combat
    Update 1.3, Nov 2022
    Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers who were engaged in Close Combat during the Activation phase of the current Order will always affect every Trooper involved, even if, due to the Template’s placement, it contacts only some of them. Players must take this into account, since Attacks cannot be performed against Allied Troopers.
     
    A Jumara le gusta esto.
  9. Enolkys

    Enolkys Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2021
    Mensajes:
    39
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    You-re awesome.
    Some one else just helped me out and explained that I am reading something that maybe translated partially or missing more info that should be required.

    IE Taking this line from the engaged state rule page is correct and would read as you can nuke your own trooper;
    - Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers in Engaged state will always affect all participating Troopers, even if the placement of the Template would only affect one of them.

    A better version would be to update the Engage State Rule to Include template weapons a tad better so you don't have to read two separate rules and try to combine them as I was reading them as independent of each other;

    Updated - Template Weapons placed on a group of Troopers in Engaged state will always affect all participating Troopers, even if the placement of the Template would only affect one of them. While doing so, players must take this into account, since Attacks cannot be performed against Allied Troopers as per the Template Weapons into Close Combat Rule

    Thanks for the patience and time.
     
  10. Savnock

    Savnock Nerfherder

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.616
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.782
    Wait… can you not use that tactic anymore? What changed?
     
  11. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    I think everything has a hit mode now, apart from guided attacks.
     
    A A Mão Esquerda y Savnock les gusta esto.
  12. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Registrado:
    4 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.805
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    12.472
    Missile launchers and other template weapons got the second mode that does not utilize a template, so that the Speculo cannot take out the Avatar for a walk like she did on either the first or the second Interplanetario.
     
    A Savnock y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  13. Savnock

    Savnock Nerfherder

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.616
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.782
    Oh good, it’s Guided that I mostly wanted to defend against (Interventor).
     
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation