Will Killing the Carried Model Cancel Casevac State?

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Methuselah, Nov 1, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Methuselah

    Methuselah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    126
    Lets pretend I have an unconscious model A who is Casevaced by model B. If model B goes into dead state, will it cancel the Casevac state of model A?

    Intuitively, I would say yes, but reviewing the cancelation clause of Casevac, it doesn't seem to care about what happens to the carried model as long as they don't recover.

    CANCELLATION
    ► Casevac State is automatically cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac declares a Skill other than Cautious Movement, Climb, Dodge, Jump, Reset, or a Short Movement Skill.
    ► This State is also cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac is activated in the Impetuous Phase.
    ► In the same way, Casevac State is cancelled when the Trooper that declared Casevac the State enters any Immobilized or Null State, or any other State that indicates so.
    ► This State is also cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac enters a State which replaces the Model with a Marker (Camouflaged, Impersonation, Holoecho...).
    ► This State is automatically cancelled if the carried Trooper recovers from the Immobilized(IMM-A or IMM-B), Stunned, or Unconscious State.
    ► The Trooper that declared Casevac can cancel it voluntarily by spending a Short Skill of an Order, with no Roll required.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
    I'm curious why this distinction is important?

    For the purposes of the Classified, the trooper will no longer be in the state with an allied trooper as that trooper no longer exists, so if the state persists there's still missing components to benefit from it. Looking at it the other way, Casevac state doesn't really prevent the carrying trooper from doing anything, so it's not like the trooper can't simply declare an ARO or a skill that causes the state to cancel if they want to get out of the state.

    Edit: Ah, I tripped up A and B. As Ugin notes, it is the model declaring the skill that enters the state
     
    #2 Mahtamori, Nov 1, 2022
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2022
  3. Ugin

    Ugin Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    According to the text, the Trooper who activates the Casevac state is the 'carrying' Trooper.

    The Trooper who's 'being carried', activates no state.

    And the state gets cancelled "when the Trooper that declared Casevac the State enters any Immobilized or Null State, or any other State that indicates so".

    So, if the carrying Trooper enters Dead state, there's no Trooper who's in Casevac state.
     
    #3 Ugin, Nov 2, 2022
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2022
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation