We ran into a problem in a game of Biotechvore today. One of the Classified Objectives my opponent had drawn was Rescue. Requiring him to have a friendly model in CasEvac state at the end of game (with extra VP, if the model was on my half of the table). At the same time, the scenario - Biotechvore - had a Scenario Rule: Killing. Meaning, verbatim: Troopers are considered Killed by the adversary when they enter Dead State, or they are in a Null State at the end of the game. We got honestly caught by a case of a Schrodniger Myrmidon: was the CasEvac'ed model alive at the end of the game (thus fulfilling the Classified Objective), or was it killed by the scenario's special rule...?
The model in casevac is presumably unconscious and in null state. That model will both satisfy the Rescue classified and count as killed at the end of the game. Counting as killed doesn't change anything on the table, it just defines how you count victory points at the end of the game.
Well, since the interpretation was making a difference between a draw and a defeat, I was inclined to interpret it with RL logic: if your task is to CasEvac a colleague, you fulfill this task only if the colleague survives. If the Biotechvore has eaten him in the end, he didn't survived. My opponent argued this made the Classified unachievable, but then not all of the ITS 14 scenarios have a Killing scenario rule. ...then again, rules of Infinity often don't have much to do with IRL logic. Therefore, I'm not saing you aren't right, @Metuselah. But I can't say I'm persuaded by your argumentation, either.
Ya, that makes sense. Infinity isn't a very good simulation however. Once a model is in the CASEVAC STATE, it's canceled if one of the following occur (taken from ITS14): CANCELLATION ► Casevac State is automatically cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac declares a Skill other than Cautious Movement, Climb, Dodge, Jump, Reset, or a Short Movement Skill. ► This State is also cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac is activated in the Impetuous Phase. ► In the same way, Casevac State is cancelled when the Trooper that declared Casevac the State enters any Immobilized or Null State, or any other State that indicates so. ► This State is also cancelled if the Trooper that declared Casevac enters a State which replaces the Model with a Marker (Camouflaged, Impersonation, Holoecho...). ► This State is automatically cancelled if the carried Trooper recovers from the Immobilized(IMM-A or IMM-B), Stunned, or Unconscious State. ► The Trooper that declared Casevac can cancel it voluntarily by spending a Short Skill of an Order, with no Roll required. None of these care if the model being carried counts as being killed. Further, in the scenario, if the model counts as killed at the end of the game it's not exactly the same as being in the dead state.
I need to give it some time to stew. I mean, my sense of logic still stands at its hind legs and lashes out with its hooves, so to speak, at that situation.