I played in a tournament this last weekend, and the TO ruled that an Isolated NCO could still spend the lieutenant order. I disagreed, but didn't make an issue of this at the time - is there an official ruling on this?
I'm not aware of an official ruling. To me, it looks like they shouldn't be able to spend the Lt order: - Isolated says "Troopers in Isolated State cannot receive Orders from their Order Pool." - Order Pool says "The Order Pool is the number of Regular Orders available" and "Each Combat Group has its own Order Pool" - NCO says "This Special Skill allows its owner to use the Special Lieutenant Order, considering it as another Regular Order of their Combat Group." Seems to me that the NCO unit treats the Lt order as a Regular order of their Combat Group, which makes it a Regular Order in the Order Pool of that Combat Group, so being Isolated prevents them from receiving that order.
The question was if Lt can spend the Order when Isolated. Ditto for NCO. The official answer is "yes if it was generated" with no precision if that answer applied to Lt and/or NCO. But seeing that there is no 2nd answer for the NCO case; it probably meant Yes to both. But I agree with the 2 other answer. The FAQ feels like it is probably erroneous (when it come to NCO).
The FAQ is about a un-isolated trooper spending the Lt. order of an Isolated Lt. NCO is pretty clear that the order is spent as if it was a Regular Order from the combat group, so can't be used if the NCO themselves is isolated IMO.
uh, no ? "How does the Lieutenant Special Skill interact with Isolated State? Can they still spend their Lieutenant Special Order" nothing here says the question is about a un-isolated Lieutenant spending their own Isolated Lt Special Order. How can the Lt be both un-isolated and isolated ? It is about about isolated trooper ability to use a Lt Order "and can it still be used by a Trooper with NCO? " this, yes, I suppose they could be asking about un-isolated NCO, spending the isolated Lt order. So, probably an on-the-fly ruling made by the TO that remembered this FAQ but, like me, did not catch it did not cover an isolated NCO and an Isolated-or-not Lt.
The difference is that one is talking about an Isolated LT with a non Isolated NCO using the order, while this one is talking about an Isolated NCO using a non-Isolated LT's order.