Turning to face enemy on survival of ARM

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por theGricks, 8 Jul 2022.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. theGricks

    theGricks Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    15 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    969
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.292
    Hello there!

    Still pulling into N4 rules, and I got a daylami shot in the back last night, outside his ZoC, he failed his dodge, but did somehow survive! But then I was told he could not turn to face his attacker on successful ARM saves, is this true?
     
  2. Brokenwolf

    Brokenwolf Protector of the Search for Knowledge

    Registrado:
    8 Mar 2019
    Mensajes:
    1.682
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.826
    No. First the Daylami could decide to fail its Guts roll (https://infinitythewiki.com/Guts_Roll) and turn around. Second, the trooper could use Alert (https://infinitythewiki.com/Alert) to turn around if they never got an ARO, but were attacked.

    EDIT: How did they get a Dodge roll? They usually would not get an ARO.
     
    A Jumara le gusta esto.
  3. theGricks

    theGricks Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    15 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    969
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.292
    Sorry I made a mistake, ko dali was in ZoC but outside front arc, and yes Daylami passed guts roll. I figured they would automatically turn to face their attacker so just tried dodging.

    So what I am reading in this situation is, kind of yes they can turn to face the attacker, but it involves voluntarily failing Guts, in which case they move the gain cover against the attacker and in the process can turn and face.
     
    A Brokenwolf le gusta esto.
  4. Jumara

    Jumara Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    84
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    64
    If he got shot in the back arc outside his zone of control you only get an aro in the case of the trooper having "sixt sense" ea from a 4man link or having the special rule.
    So in your case you could not have dodged.

    But if you have to make saving trows and did NOT have a legal Aro, you can change the facing of the trooper after the order ends.

    The common skill is called Alert.

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Alert
     
    A chromedog y Brokenwolf les gusta esto.
  5. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    9 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.400
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.541
    For Alert, the trooper does not need to have made a saving throw, only to have been the target of an attack (or have a friendly in their ZoC have been the target of an attack) and not have declared an ARO (either by not having a ARO triggered or by deciding to not declare one).
     
    A Jumara le gusta esto.
  6. Jumara

    Jumara Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    84
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    64
    Oh then that changed from N3, my mistake. It used to only be possible if one got hit and had no aro otherwise, the saving throw thing made the hit part clear for me but a non-lethal weapon like "forward observe" should also trigger this. Do I understand you right that you can even alert if the attack failed?

    Well I scimmed over the text again and yes the attack dould fail and you do not even need to be the one beeing attacked. the more you know N4 things ;D
     
    A chromedog y bladerunner_35 les gusta esto.
  7. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    9 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.400
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.541
    It worked the same in N3, only needed to be targeted by an attack, not hit. :)

    Being hit causes Guts Roll, which could also be used as a possibility to modify your LoF.
     
    A Dragonstriker y Jumara les gusta esto.
  8. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    If they can't get to better cover with a Guts movement, they can't make it, however.
     
  9. Brokenwolf

    Brokenwolf Protector of the Search for Knowledge

    Registrado:
    8 Mar 2019
    Mensajes:
    1.682
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.826
    They can always turn around with a guts move:

    " If the two previous options are not possible, the Trooper must go Prone, facing in any direction its player chooses."
     
    A chromedog y Jumara les gusta esto.
  10. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    Unless they're a TAG or motorcycle or whatever. or already prone.
     
  11. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    I'm sorry, but are you sure?
    The rule says: "The Trooper CANNOT have been activated".
    "CANNOT" is specially marked and it makes me anxious... I understand this as "it was not possible to be activated". Am I wrong?
     
  12. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.102
    Choosing to not declare an ARO means that the model wasn’t activated. To have been activated it must have declared/executed an ARO skill.
     
    A Qwerinaga le gusta esto.
  13. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.336
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.985
    It’s not a matter of “was it possible to activate?”

    If you’re in your reactive turn and you have an ARO and don’t take it, you don’t activate.

    If you declare an ARO and it gets converted to Idle, you did activate.

    The important, critical difference is that passing on your ARO opportunity isn’t an ARO.
     
  14. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    Literally, this means that trooper CAN be activated, but you chose not to.
    This directly contradicts the rule that says "CANNOT" be activated.
    That's what I'm trying to draw your attention to.
     
    #14 Qwerinaga, 21 Ago 2022
    Última edición: 21 Ago 2022
  15. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    It says "cannot have been activated" it does not say "cannot have been able to be activated". Those two are very different grammatically.
     
    A toadchild, Qwerinaga y Nuada Airgetlam les gusta esto.
  16. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    With all my respect, "Cannot have been" already means "not have been able".

    can
    /kan,kən/
    verb: to be able to; have the ability, power, or skill to
    https://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/can
     
  17. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    The sentence structure tells the reader that there is a strong degree of certainty that the action has been taken (or in this case the negation means it has not been taken)
    https://commonenglisherrors.com/cant-have-been-couldnt-have-been/#:~:text=While Can't Have (Been,learners find them rather confusing.
     
    A Qwerinaga le gusta esto.
  18. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    From your link:

    "Expressing the Impossibility of a Past Event
    As with the Can’t Have (Been), Couldn’t Have (Been) can also be used to express the impossibility of a past event."

    Both constructions used to express the impossibility of a past event.
    Can't = impossible. Exactly what I'm talking about. "Impossible" is not something about willing refusal.
     
  19. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Have Been vs. Has Been vs. Had Been: How to Use Each One Correctly - The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation (grammarbook.com)

    "Have been activated" is in the present perfect tense, meaning it refers to the state, in the present, of having been activated in the past (in this case, at an earlier stage of the Order Expenditure Sequence.)

    "Cannot have been activated" means that, to use Alert, the unit cannot (in the present - note "cannot" is a present tense verb) be in the state of having been activated earlier in the order.

    To refer to whether the unit could have been activated in the past, you would use the past tense "could not" rather than the present tense "cannot." So, "the unit could not have been activated" would mean that at the point of declaring AROs, the unit did not have the option to activate.
     
    A Methuselah y Qwerinaga les gusta esto.
  20. Nuada Airgetlam

    Nuada Airgetlam Nazis sod off ///

    Registrado:
    26 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    3.071
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.019
    What? No, that's entirely not how those phrases work in English.

    Cannot have been activated = the binary choice between "has been activated" ("1") and "has not been activated" ("0") is "0". The model has not been activated yet. This is equivalent to the phrase "MUST not have been activated" (which editorially would've been a much better choice, but CB writing and editing in English is what it is). This answers to a "Has it been activated yet?" check. If negative ("cannot"), the rule applies.

    Cannot have been able to be activated = there was no option to be activated, the above binary choice did not exist. "MUST not have had the chance to activate" is the equivalent phrase. This answers to an entirely different "Could it have been activated?" check. This check doesn't apply in this case at all.

    It's only the matter of whether having the option to activate (ARO) and going with IDLE counts as having activated in the ruleset. If it does, it fails the "cannot have been activated" check. If it doesn't, it passes that check.
     
    A toadchild y Qwerinaga les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation