Can Troopers do ranged attacks on themselves?

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Mahtamori, Apr 13, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    Given how there are NWI Doctors and Paramediks and how Medikits often surpass the Doctor skill; can a unit shoot themselves with a BS Attack if they have a weapon that allows friendlies to be targeted such as a MediKit?
    I would personally assume that they aren't allowed to as it violates the "used remotely" part of a Medikit, but it's not all that obvious.
     
    #1 Mahtamori, Apr 13, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2022
  2. Errhile

    Errhile A traveller on the Silk Road

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    Um, do you absolutely need to pull a BS attack to use Medkit on a model in base-to-base contact? I recall it wasn't so in previous editions, but maybe in N4 it is different.

    Since it has been estabilished that a model is in BtB with itself (originally regarding Baggage being used to refill Disposable weapons)...
     
  3. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    242
    You do if you want the burst bonus from a haris
     
    Mahtamori likes this.
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    What Iskandar wrote, it's about the burst bonuses which don't seem capable of applying to a target when used in the "auto-hit" mode. Rindak above all else since they have MediKit +1B and NWI, but also MacHaon and a few others that may find themselves in NWI state and still in a team.
     
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    3,690
    Rindak has STR, not W. Medikit has no effect on them
     
    Errhile and Mahtamori like this.
  6. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    242
    Rindak is STR so can't touch themselves
     
    Robock, Errhile and Mahtamori like this.
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    Hey cool, that settles the most immediate concern in the Haris comparison in the YJ forums, but the question still remains for other Paramedics :)
     
    Abrilete likes this.
  8. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    The question would be whether a trooper can draw LoF to itself.

    I can't imagine the designers considered the question. Strictly RAW, the best I can come up with is that "Line of Fire (LoF) is an imaginary straight line that joins any point of the volume of a Model, Token, Marker or valid target to any point of the volume of another." [emphasis added]. Arguably, LoF has to be between one trooper and another, not one trooper and itself.
     
    solkan, Robock, Methuselah and 3 others like this.
  9. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    631
    [Deleted as same conclusion and evidence as @QueensGambit above]
     
    #9 KGG, Apr 13, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2022
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation