Impetuous immobilized Dodge

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por QueensGambit, 4 Nov 2021.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Kum biker is in the Immobilized-A state. Kum uses his impetuous activation. What happens?

    A. He is allowed to declare Dodge+Move, so he declares Dodge, then is unable to declare Move and idles for his second short skill.

    B. He can't declare anything because Impetuous requires him to declare Dodge+Move, and he can't declare the Move part due to being Immobilized. so he's prevented from Dodging.
     
  2. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    My assumption is it follows the usual procedure for declaring something you can't actually do, it just changes to idle. So it'd dodge+idle.
     
  3. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    9 Ago 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.400
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.541
    Immobilized-A is probably another case of a skill saying "declare", but that is probably meant as "perform" with the arrival of 1.1.1.

    Because otherwise you kinda just break the game when you get to the point where you are declaring your second short skill, as you have no valid skills that can be declared.

    Actually... Immobilized doesn't even allow you to declare an idle, so even in the case of a non-impetuous trooper, an illegal declaration would have to happen to even resolve this situation. (Which is another reason why I think IMM is intended to be "perform" rather than "declare")
     
    #3 Diphoration, 4 Nov 2021
    Última edición: 4 Nov 2021
    A QueensGambit le gusta esto.
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Added this to the list.

    I want to spread the love of this piece of knowledge: Impetuous troopers can't complete their orders if they are Engaged at the start of the impetuous activation, either, because CC+Idle isn't allowed.
     
    A Diphoration y QueensGambit les gusta esto.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    This isn't an open question. Idle states:

    "Whenever a Trooper that received an Order in the Active Turn chooses not to perform an action with one of the two Short Skills of that Order, that Trooper is considered to declare Idle."

    Ergo, you can choose not perform an action and is considered to declare Idle. You don't actually declare Idle so it's legal.

    This is literally the way you could Idle + CC in N3 as well.
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  6. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    The problem is that dodge+no action isn't on the list of allowed impetuous activations either. I agree with you as to what's likely intended, but I'm happy to see it stay on the unanswered questions list.

    It's the kind of question that would be ruled on quickly and easily if we had an Infinity Rules Staff, wtf CB it's been more than six months now??? @HellLois seriously this is getting ridiculous. You desperately need to either replace @ijw or tell us when he's coming back.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  7. Amusedbymuse

    Amusedbymuse Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    1 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    562
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    417
    This is ridiculous. We still have very basic rules that need clarification.
    With the change to BS lof no longer being checked at declaration but total cover rules not allowing for preemptive aro declaration. Is it intentional or did they miss that?
    Even worse with CC. The interim ruling got rid of CC bait, but in faq they didn't add this rule. Are pre faq interim rulings out of date or do they still apply? Some of them don't work anymore after faq, some of them are part of faq, but CC bait wasnt. Does it mean that CB wanted CC bait to work with this faq? Seems weird as the same faq got rid of BS smoke bait.
    Long story short, base rules of the game require clarification and we need someone who could do this. @ijw isn't here, CB didn't say a word about his disappearance and we are left hanging without any information.
    Guess TAG raid is more important than this.
     
  8. HellLois

    HellLois What the Hell...Lois?
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.559
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.144
    This: A. He is allowed to declare Dodge+Move, so he declares Dodge, then is unable to declare Move and idles for his second short skill.
     
    RobertShepherd, Jonno, Methuselah y 2 otros les gusta esto.
  9. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    He lives!
     
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation