Explode and All at Once rule

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Mahtamori, Oct 26, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    Situation:
    A Fusilier fireteam is far too close to a Gaki after having lost a member to a Berserk and decides to move out of the way and then shoot the Gaki. During resolution step, the Gaki is knocked Unconscious and explodes, placing a template that doesn't touch any of the Fusiliers - but it does touch 3 of the Fusiliers in their starting position!

    For regular skill declaration sequence this is a no-brainer. If the Gaki had a regular DTW, it would hit all of those Fusiliers under the template regardless of whether the movement or the DTW attack was declared first, and anyone Fusilier foolish or forced to move into the template would also be hit.

    Explode still happens inside the same Order, but at the end of the Resolution step. Basically "Does All at Once still apply to movement after rolls have been made?"
    As far as I can tell, as written All at Once should still apply meaning that it could get difficult to place the template at all if moving more than one unit together (looking at you, Kuang Shi) with the exploding unit and also very potent at hitting enemies (The dodges, they do nothing!). Am I missing a limiting factor here?

    (Obviously, since the explosion happens after effects of rolls have been made, trooper that are rendered Dead will have been removed from the table and the effects of Dodge rolls will have already been made - the necessary language to make quantum-dodges of Explode from previous edition(s) is gone.)
     
    #1 Mahtamori, Oct 26, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2021
    Lawson likes this.
  2. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    IIRC last edition it used to function purely as an endstep thing that happened post dodge movement etc. Is there anything in the wording that would change that?
     
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    I don't think that was ever clarified. IJW did clarify that the Dodge roll would not be useful against the Dodge in N3 as opposed to N2, but I don't remember seeing the issue of movement and all at once having been brought up before.
    N3 was an edition where a Dodge movement during resolution could trigger a mine that would automatically miss the Dodging trooper, remember?
     
  4. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    3,689
    Are you looking for this?
    upload_2021-10-26_13-58-55.png
     
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    No, that's not what I was looking for, but it is good to point out all the same. Does lend some credibility to that Explode will work with All At Once exactly like any other DTW
     
  6. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    I believe it was clarified that the final position of the trooper mattered. The Dodge couldn't oppose the explode, but if the trooper dodge far away enough that they weren't under the template when the Kuang Shi or whatever exploded then it wasn't attacked by the explosion in the first place.

    But this was off old forums stuff that I can't verify anymore.
     
  7. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    3,689
    Try it again.
    If you performed a (successful) Dodge during the order, you are not affected by the Explode template wherever you are. See above
     
  8. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    I'm talking about the N3 ruling.
     
  9. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    3,689
    Wooooooooops! Missed the N3 reference
     
  10. Indrome

    Indrome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    upload_2021-10-30_17-50-21.png

    I might've gotten this wrong, but:
    1. the Fusiliers move away (MOVE), the Ghaki declares Dodge (ARO) and then the Fusiliers declare Shoot (SHOOT).
    2. In Resolution, the Ghaki does not make its Dodge and goes unconscious.
    3. After Resolution, all troops stand where they stand as the Ghaki explodes with no targets within ITW range.
    If the Ghaki succeeded at his dodge, he wouldn't have exploded.

    To me, the bit about "at the end of an Order" means "after All At Once when all rolls and repositioning are done".
     
    archon, solkan and Robock like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation