Need clarification on SymbioMate & SymbioBomb

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Indrome, Oct 28, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Indrome

    Indrome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    A friend and I have been trying to wrap our heads around Spiral Corps lately.

    We've come to a point where we think we are aligned on and in mutual misunderstanding of the rules in the wiki and all their little adages strewn across the place in confusing locations. We're just not sure which of the following is true:
    1. A Kaeltar can assign as many SymbioBombs and SymbioMates as there are units meetings the requirement for Assignable(W) in the army
      • This means there is no hidden AVA or Disposable(n) attribute for either
    2. OR A Kaeltar can assign only ONE SymbioBomb and ONE SymbioMate per deployment phase to units that meet the requirement for Assignable(W)
      • This means there IS a hidden AVA 1 or Disposable(1) attribute on each

    What REALLY throws us in addition is the SymbioBomb game example:
    upload_2021-10-28_16-24-48.png

    The Gorgos Squad has Transmutation(W) and the rules explicitly state
    A Trooper possessing the Transmutation (W) Special Skill cannot receive more than one weapon or piece of Equipment of the same type with the Assignable Label.

    1. How can the Kaeltar assign a SymbioBomb to the Gorgos IN ADDITION to the existing SymbioMate?
    2. How can the Gorgos even have a SymbioMate already? From a second Kaeltar?
    3. What does "Equipment of the same type" mean? What does type even mean, specifically? Aren't SymbioBombs and SymbioMates "Equipment of the same type"?
    4. Is this specific paragraph of the Labels just there to try and make it clear that a trooper can not have more than one of either SymbioMate or SymbioBomb?
    5. How can the Kaeltar even assign TWO SymbioBombs in the same deployment? (that would hint at option No.1 from above being true)
    6. Is it implied here that the Kaeltar can assign as many SymbioMates and SymbioBombs as he likes but only ONE per troop? (he basically has to choose either Mate or Bomb for each individual troop, not both)

    upload_2021-10-28_16-27-41.png upload_2021-10-28_16-27-1.png

    ... so all of this is really confusing.

    PS: Does anyone know the actual silhouette value of mission objective scenery (panoplies, antennae, tech-coffins)?
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Indrome, Oct 28, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2021
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    3,683
    I think that the right answer is 4. A single model cannot have more than 1 Mate or more than 1 Bomb. One each shuold be ok.

    There is not a value. You have a Marker (40mm) so there is no height, or you have a model so you have the model.
     
  3. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,154
    Only troopers have a silhouette. Objectives are either 40mm markers or scenery pieces with a 40mm footprint. Markers are flat and do not block line of fire, scenery pieces are treated as any other type of scenery for the purposes of LoF and cover.

    Treating them as S3 or S5 is a common house rule.
     
    #3 colbrook, Oct 28, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2021
    Abrilete and Indrome like this.
  4. jmmelo

    jmmelo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    709
    4 is not right because any unit with Transmutation (W) can have one of each... in option four he mentions "a trooper can not have more than one of either SymbioMate or SymbioBomb".

    The thing here is that, as he asks before in option 3, Mates and Bombs are different types of equipment. So having one of each is not a problem.
     
    Indrome likes this.
  5. Indrome

    Indrome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thank you for your replies. I've added points 5 and 6 because we are still missing the information about the restrictions on the Kaeltar for assigning Mates and Bombs. Does he have an infinite amount of each?
     
  6. Indrome

    Indrome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Friend just reminded me that there are profiles with f.e. "2 x Symbiomate" upload_2021-10-28_17-5-52.png

    That would imply option No.2 being true with the adage that the profile states the amount of Bombs or Mates the unit can assign at deployment.
     
  7. Indrome

    Indrome Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    So the current thinking here is:
    1. SymbioBombs and SymbioMates are Equipment of DIFFERENT TYPE (with "type" being an undefined attribute in the wiki I'm still not sold on this)
    2. Troopers with Transmutation(W) can have both ONE SymbioBomb and ONE SymbioMate assigned to them at the same time
    3. The assignment of SymbioBombs and SymbioMates happens during deployment ONLY and is limited by the amount stated in the profiles (using an implicit singular and an explicit plural for the amount)
    4. The SymbioBomb Game Example is completely idiotic because there is no Kaeltar profile with two SymbioBombs in either Tohaa Vanilla or Spiral Corps
    Please let me know if there's still holes in the logic here. :)
     
    jmmelo likes this.
  8. Abrilete

    Abrilete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    3,545
    The Kaeltar with the 2x Symbiomate means that he carries two Symbiomates that he has to assign during deployment. As troopers cannot have more than one assigned, it just means that the Kaeltar gives one Symbiomate to one trooper, and another Symbiomate to another trooper.

    Sadly, ruleswise Inifnity is not as tightly written as Magic.
     
    Lawson and Indrome like this.
  9. Abrilete

    Abrilete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    3,545
    They just didn't update the example, in N3 there was a Kaeltar profile with two SymbioBombs.
    Symbiobombs were way better back then, by the way.
     
  10. jmmelo

    jmmelo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    709

    Yep, that seems to be all correct
     
    Indrome likes this.
  11. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    For the record, in N3 the Kaeltar Specialist profiles were:
    • Shotgun; SymbioBomb (2)
    • Combi; SimbioBomb (2)
    • Shotgun; SimbioMate (2)
    • Combi; SimbioMate (2)
    So what probably happened is that the example got written for the N3 profiles, and then the profiles got changed and no one noticed that the example was wrong.

    That happened a few times in N3 (they had a trooper with Kinematica in the Dodge example, and had the trooper ignore its bonus to dodge movement...). The -principle- of the example is right (you assign whatever you have, or you dodge) but the fine details (how many things you have to assign, or the other rules modifying your distance) might not be quite right.
     
    Indrome likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation