Escape System and States on Operator

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Leomaris, Mar 15, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leomaris

    Leomaris Needs more Feuerbach

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Assume an anaconda TAG has Immobilized, Isolated, Possessed, and Targeted on it. The next order it takes two wounds from an opposing model and triggers escape system. Are any states applied to the anaconda operator that is now in the smoke template?
     
  2. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,268
    Likes Received:
    8,102
    I think this is a very interesting question, thanks for bringing it up! I think that we need to look at both the Anaconda and Iguana, since the operators are LI and HI.

    For starters, I think that we can assume any illegal state will be canceled. Operators aren’t TAGs, so Possessed will definitely not transfer. After that, the HI and LI vulnerability lists are different, so it may vary on a case by case basis.

    Then again, the TAG rules make a point of saying that you can’t target the pilot / operator directly while they are mounted, so maybe nothing transfers at all (other than wounds as explicitly detailed in escape system).
     
  3. Leomaris

    Leomaris Needs more Feuerbach

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    the FAQ states that possession does refer to this case:

    "How does the Possessed State interact with Pilots, Dismounting, and Escape Systems? When a TAG is in Possessed State, its Pilot cannot Mount or Dismount. If a TAG 's Escape System takes effect while the TAG is in Possessed State, the operator profile will not be in Possessed State."

    and they refer to hackers not suffering from E/M if they aren't as well in the Pilot Rules as well

    "
    • If the Pilot is a Trooper vulnerable to hacking or suffering the effect of E/M Ammunition, no Hacking Program may be used against them and the E/M effect will not be applied to them as long as their Model is not on the gaming table.
    • Pilot (Remote):
      • As an exception to this rule, if the Remote Pilot is on the gaming table in an Isolated, Immobilized (IMM-A or IMM-B) or Null State, their player may spend an Order or ARO to declare Reset with the Vehicle or TAG to regain control of it. If this Reset is a Normal Roll with no MODs applied, it will be an automatic success and, after declaring this, the Remote Pilot is removed from the gaming table."

    the only problem with the second quote is that the Anaconda does not have the Pilot skill. They suggest that illegal state don't transfer, but it is unclear because of the lack of pilot skill and escape system
     
    toadchild likes this.
  4. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,268
    Likes Received:
    8,102
    The Gorgos is in many ways like the Operator TAGs, but some of the same questions may apply to Tohaa HI like the Ectros as well, since they become hacking-immune after losing two wounds.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation