Dodging a direct template (from a deployable weapon) and other attacks

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por NauticalSoup, 18 Oct 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. NauticalSoup

    NauticalSoup Member

    Registrado:
    26 Sep 2020
    Mensajes:
    28
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    Trying to figure out how to use a WildParrot. So let's say I have an Echo-Bravo and I've deployed a WildParrot with an enemy inside the trigger area. Next action I attack this enemy giving them an ARO - if they decide to dodge the template from the WildParrot, they take a normal dodge roll at -3... does that mean this dodge roll can't be used to also dodge against the Echo-Bravo's shots as a face-to-face roll? Is it one or the other, or can he attempt to dodge both? And if he can dodge both, how does the -3 factor in?
     
  2. miguelbarbo84

    miguelbarbo84 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    160
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    169
    Make 1 roll, check at -3 to see if the wildparrot is avoided, then check ftf at 0 against echobravo.

    Fast example: phys=12 and roll = 10.
    Failed to avoid WP template at 9s.
    EB rolls = 4,7,9.
    Won for and managed to avoid EB shots.
     
    A Alphz le gusta esto.
  3. NauticalSoup

    NauticalSoup Member

    Registrado:
    26 Sep 2020
    Mensajes:
    28
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    Okay so second question - based on how cancels work in FTF rolls does that mean that if he had rolled a success at 9 and the Echo-Bravo nailed him on a 10, would the dodge of the template therefore be cancelled as per cancellation of successes in FTF rolls? It's no longer a successful 'normal' roll anymore, yes?
     
  4. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    He dodges the template but gets hit by whatever Echo Bravo shots beat him in the FtF.
    9 is enough to succeed at the normal roll, but not enough to beat the echo bravo's attacks.

    FYI the rulebook details a description similar to what you're asking on page 85.
     
  5. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.336
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.985
    That's not correct, because you're attempting to apply the rules for a face to face roll on something that isn't a face to face roll.

    The same die roll is being used in both, but it may as well be two independent copies of the same die.
     
  6. NauticalSoup

    NauticalSoup Member

    Registrado:
    26 Sep 2020
    Mensajes:
    28
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    Interesting. So you roll once but apply the result, essentially, to two discreet things - a normal PH-3 roll to avoid the template and then a different FTF roll to dodge the incoming shots.

    This is very strange given the way the rulebook uses the word 'roll', are there other examples that illustrate how this works?

    Also, another thing just occurred to me: does this mean that your PH-3 to dodge the template is irrespective of your success/failure when dodging? So you can get hit by the template and still do the dodge-move?

    Edit: page 85 has an example of a fusilier spreading shots across two different targets. I don't see how this applies to the specific example of a dodge roll being both a normal AND a FTF roll, or what qualifies as a success/cancellation etc.
     
    #6 NauticalSoup, 18 Oct 2020
    Última edición: 18 Oct 2020
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.157
    No, you must succeed in your Dodge against all attacks to get the move, the mine's template is still an attack so failing your Dodge against it stops you moving.
     
  8. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.417
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.907
    No you still need to succeed against all involved instances, the Mine and the BS attack, to get the Dodge Movement.

    There is an example in the rules handling that situation on Page 86.

    EXAMPLE OF DODGE AND DEPLOYABLE WEAPON
    ...
    By failing to Dodge the Mine’s impact, the Zhanshi will also be unable to move up to 2 inches, even though he succeeded against the Fusilier’s Attacks.
     
    A NauticalSoup le gusta esto.
  9. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    Screenshot 2020-10-18 120741.png

    apologies, page 86. as others have said, you must beat all rolls to be able to move
     
    A NauticalSoup le gusta esto.
  10. NauticalSoup

    NauticalSoup Member

    Registrado:
    26 Sep 2020
    Mensajes:
    28
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    So I guess that's where I'm being tripped up. The way the rules are written seem to suggest explicitly that the template dodge is NOT a FTF roll, but a 'normal' PH-3 roll, and it just didn't make sense that a dodge could test both as a normal and FTF roll at the same time.

    I think I get it now, thanks.
     
    A miguelbarbo84 y MikeTheScrivener les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation