Moving on top of obstacles

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por Vohlere, 28 Sep 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. Vohlere

    Vohlere Active Member

    Registrado:
    8 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    27
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    41
    I can see the rules clearly for a model interacting with an obstacle that is the same or smaller than it's own size when it comes to moving over it, but I can't find anything that addresses ending your movement on top of an obstacle.

    If we use a TAG and a shipping crate as an example, it's fairly common in N3 to see the TAG move on top of the container (So long as its base can fit) without measuring the vertical distance. Is this still the case in N4? You could argue that it would be treated the same was as a set of stairs, just in an extreme way.

    Hopefully this is an easy answer and I'm just over thinking it!
    Cheers.
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    The entire base must be in contact with a surface wherever you end your movement, part of the general movement rules.
     
  3. Vohlere

    Vohlere Active Member

    Registrado:
    8 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    27
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    41
    Yeah, I said that. I'm asking if we ignore the vertical movement still.
     
  4. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    Oh yes, that's still the case:

    A Trooper can move over any scenery item whose height is equal to or lower than the height of the Trooper’s Silhouette Template, with no need to declare Climb or Jump.
    This vertical movement is not taken into account when measuring how far the Trooper moves, but the Trooper counts as moving up and over the obstacle for the purposes of LoF .
     
    A bladerunner_35 le gusta esto.
  5. Vohlere

    Vohlere Active Member

    Registrado:
    8 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    27
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    41
    You're quoting what I've already talked about. My issue is with the wording 'Up and over'. The example is for clearing the terrain piece as shown in the diagram, not ending on top of it?
     
  6. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    I don't understand, "up and over" can equally apply to climbing a ledge and stopping on top of it.
     
  7. Vohlere

    Vohlere Active Member

    Registrado:
    8 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    27
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    41
    Yeah that's fair, I was assuming the only example pictured was showing a model ending at the same height it started at. Like I said, I hoped it was an easy answer and it looks like it is =D
     
  8. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    The first example shows them stopping lower than they started, so you can clearly stop at a different height.
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Colbrook already pointed it out, but here’s the diagram, with the starting and end points being on different levels:

    02CCD372-1F10-481C-BB2D-ED26E010F4D2.jpeg
     
    A Xeurian y Lesh' les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation