I don't know what you're trying to get me to say. My position is exactly as detailed by IJW. You're a few FAQs too late to get this skill to be ambiguous. The line you quoted is there to prevent a player from applying the roll to more than one target.
Trying to understand the logic and history of this ruling. During N2 repairing multiple structure points was allowed assuming that there was more than one target. For some reason CB didn’t like that so they changed the rules. Because CB can’t write a tight ruleset, they left some corner cases open. The intention of the Engineer-rule is that you can never repair more than one structure point using a single order?
no, it was never allowed, but some people missunderstood the rules. CB has just clarified that. and yes, that intention is correct, and is how the rules work
There's one technical exception to that - when an Engy fixes a G: Remote Presence in Unconscious-2 State, he restores "2" points of STR. Though it can be argued that the G:RP trooper is still at 0 STR, just in a special Unconscious state.
That is not *technically* an exception. The model is anyway Unconscious. And they restore it to 1 Structure. From Unconscious to "operative" it is 1 point. It's the other way round. You need 2 damages to bring to DEAD said model.
Even then, it's not using the first effect, "restore 1 STR effect", but rather the second, third and fourth effects that allow the Engineer to repair Unconscious states. So the amount of Structure that is repaired is irrelevant (no Structure is repaired, rather the Unconscious state is cancelled which returns them to the Normal state, which returns them to 1STR). This distinction matters in that it complicates what happens when a model in an Unc state is repaired to Normal and takes damage during the same Resolution.