We had an argument last night during a game occuring a Daiyokai (circle red) and an ORC (circle blue). The question is : does the Daiyokai get partial cover? My opponent was saying yes, because the Daiyokai is in contact with the building and the whole building count as a piece of scenery so the wall giving him the 33% hidden part of his silhouette counts even if he doesn't touch it. I was saying no, because he wasn't in contact with the part of the building giving him the needed coverture. Who is right?
I think your picture is a bit inaccurate, but w/e. IMO if Daiyoukai had been touching the outermost corner of the building (the left wall of the stairs essentialy) - he would get cover. Otherwise - no. As for treating buildings as one whole piece of scenery - ask your friend, whether Daiyoukai (red) would get cover from Orc (blue) in this case: (green line - LoF from Orc, which shows that Orc sees less than 2/3rds of Daiyoukai If he answers "yes" - don't play with him/her anymore =)
I would say that unless you establish that a wall section of the building is a separate scenery item ahead of time such as via means of a house rule or by simple agreement, your opponent was correct. The rules for scenery items lists wall sections, doorways, etc as examples of scenery items, but it also lists that access width can be assigned for parts of a scenery item meant for access so it is very possible a single item is a large building.
There is a widely houserule that goes something like this: “A corner always breaks cover. A trooper can combine multiple pieces of scenery to fullfill partial cover requirements.”