Hidden Deployment Question

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por helsbecter, 25 Ene 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. helsbecter

    helsbecter Ultrademocratic subSenator, #dominion Module

    Registrado:
    28 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    392
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    553
    Had a new scenario come up last night in a game. I hunted through the wiki and the rules don't have much to say about this situation:

    1. A Reverend Moira staring down a Kriigel Agent is activated. The first short skill is Idle.
    2. Kriigel declares ARO with breaker combi.
    3. Clipsos reveals from Hidden Deployment in a way that completely blocks LOS to the Kriigel and ARO's with boarding shotgun.
    How would you rule the rest of the order? Can the Moira shoot the Kriigel, or vice versa? We'd ruled on the spot that the Moira could only shoot the Clipsos and that the Kriigel's ARO is spoiled.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.078
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    The game's rules are written such that in general you can't fudge with the LOF of units in the middle of an order. Strictly speaking, however, LOF is a requirement for BS Attack and the Clipsos will block the LOF to the Kriigel so the Kriigel's attack should, RAW, be negated and turn into an Idle. The Clipsos also can't Dodge or Engage to prevent this LOF blocking due to the FAQ.
     
    A WarHound le gusta esto.
  3. WarHound

    WarHound Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    7 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    136
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    158
    You check for validity of an order at the resolution step, so although at the time that the Moira Idles (with it's first short skill) the Kriigel has LoF and can ARO, at declaration (after all AROs and skills of an order) the Kriigel no longer has valid LoF.

    End Result: The Kriigel reverts to Idle, the Clipsos shoots the Moira with a BS, and the Moira cannot do anything that hits the Kriigel (unless it does not require LoS). Of course, the Moira player, being a tricky Nomad, would know they couldn't hit the Kriigel directly, and so unload into the Clipsos instead (and I hope they've got a Shotgun, or some direct template weapon to do so with!).
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    I strongly disagree with the two posts above. Yes, you check Requirements during resolution, but you're checking back across the entire Order so far, not the specific situation at that point.

    As far as I'm concerned, the Moira and the Kriigel had LoF during the Order, so they both get to shoot.
     
    JoKeR, Xeurian, DukeofEarl y 4 otros les gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation