Mission with hostile environment. Samaritan goes into melee with a 2-wound HI and rolls a 20 (crit but also damage from environment). Samaritan was already in NWI state. So he both instantly kills the HI and loses the armor roll from the hostile environment. What happens at the conclusion of the order? Is he dead or does the life steal from protheion save him? Edit: In case you didn't know, all Samaritans have monofilament melee weapons, thus the instant kill.
As with Doctor, if you both regain a wound and lose one in the same order, they are cancelled out and the effects of neither is applied. A Protheion user with 1 Wound does not become immune to Shock and a Shock wound taken at the same time does not automatically kill the Protheion user. The exception would be if the Protheion user both leeches a wound and fails an ARM save against Monofilament in which case the gained wound can not cancel out the Dead state invoked by Monofilament as a Monofilament weapon doesn't deal damage to the wound characteristic. In which case the Samaritan would not be using Protheion. Pick one; Protheion or Monofilament, not both. http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Protheion When declaring the use of Protheion, players do not apply the Damage value, Special Ammunition or other rules of any CC Weapon.