Can you declare an Intuitive attack vs an impersonation marker? My gut says no but the first line appears to say an enemy in any state that would make it previously ineligible as a target. I'm not sure if the impersonation rules trump it in this case as they count as a "friendly." Allows the user to make one single BS Attack against an enemy in a state that would normally make him ineligible as target of Attack without previous Discovery, such as Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, etc.
Honestly couldnt be clearer Allows the user to make one single BS Attack against an enemy in a state that would normally make him ineligible as target of Attack without previous Discovery, such as Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, etc.
No. Friendly model trumps the Intuitive rules Big ass thread discussing it before over here you can read at your leisure. http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/27655-intuitive-attack-and-impersonation/?page=4
I like the idea of a "flamethrower check" to see if someone's actually a Speculo Killer. Kind of cracks me up.
Want to make this discussion even more fun? Try to find a definition of "ally" in the rules. Go on, I dare you.
Looking it up on the Wiki. Intuitive Attack lets you attack targets that couldn't previously be targeted but this doesn't count against Impersonation markers because they are Allies and couldn't be targeted by an attack to begin with. So, no, you cannot declare an Intuitive Attack on an Impersonation Marker. Awesome question though. I use Impersonation all the time but just haven't come across this issue yet.
So as the persona arguing that you should be able to do this, I believe I actually remember the old thread where we all figured out that this was a stupid idea and that the Imp trumps the Int Att, in part because IJW said so and in part because it gets dumb if it doesnt. Anyone able to find the old link?
I just realised if this was ruled that you could. you could hit your Dasyu in To camo. bring him to NWI. heal him with macheon to get your Doctor classified super easy then recamo! lol
It's been linked in this thread above already. People just missed in the old thread that Imp markers actually count as friendly because of the placement of the text. Damn red boxes again.
lol, now for the real headscrew, can I use medkits on the imp markers? HAHAHA seriously anyone that takes this as anything but a joke....
The Friendly/Enemy distinction gets pretty useless when you start picking this apart, since the perspective typically referenced in the rules is inconsistent and doesn't match the one created by the Impersonation State. See, applying the same logic that disallows the use of Intuitive Attacks against Impersonation Markers to the above examples, would also prevent you from Discovering or Delaying attacks against them. On the other hand, the Mine and Minelayer rules seem to be pretty clear about how Impersonation Markers should be treated. What the red box should say is that Impersonation Markers are considered to be Friendly (not an "ally," because nowhere is that actually defined) for the purposes of declaring Attacks. That would stop everything it's supposed to, but allow everything it should. While they're at it, they should move it up to the actual effects section, and stop the red reminder box nonsense.
Yes, well, we could spend a month or two arguing over something in the rules that needs to be clarified if you go looking for unclear rules text wording. Not that such a thing has ever happened...
It's just straight-up imaginary contradictory. One of those things that CB *should* address so as not to confuse the heck out of new players, but likely won't, unfortunately. Yup, pretty much. You either have to house rule it so they can be discovered despite being friendly, or house rule it so they can't be subjected to intuitive attack despite being enemies. Add it to the list of "things in the rules that are unclear or contradictory."
You don't need to house rule anything when it is spelled out in the text that impersonation markers can be discovered but not attacked. Let's not make this into a big thing.