Camouflaged deployment and Irregular troops

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by sebastiaan, Feb 1, 2018.

  1. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    Got a question about deploying a irregular troop with camo.

    As irregular orders is open info, would this not imidiatly tell your opponent that the camo unit is irregular (as he can see all other units not deployed with camo and will be able to see if they are the 1 irregular trooper in your list.

    Doesnt really sound like its in line with the 'hidden' info regarding camo troops....

    Regards,
    Sebastiaan
     
  2. Gwaernydd

    Gwaernydd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    209
    Afaik it will be public only in your tactical phase, so your oders (irregular, pools, etc..) are not revealed during deployment, only at the start of your first turn.
     
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    Army has a few tiny problems with Private info regarding order pool (and Holoprojector).

    As @Gwaernydd says, orders are Open Info when they exist (after they have been generated) and you don't have to stick Irregular Orders next to the troopers they belong to (unless you're in Retreat I think was the exception)
     
  4. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Not really a correction, so much as a clarification... Orders don't exist until you go through the Order Count during the Tactical Phase each turn, and after being spent cease to exist. So, someone asking you how many combat groups you have during deployment is reasonable, but trying to ask about your orders within those combat groups during deployment isn't really relevant, because they don't exist yet.
     
  5. Arkhos94

    Arkhos94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    When you count your order, your opponent know you have one irregular order and can easily know one camo trooper is its owner. But, unless you have only one camo marker, your opponent cannot know which one is the irregular one before you use the order (then he will know which it is and likely what kind of trooper it is but there is no way to avoid that)
     
  6. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do i need to say how many orders i have, or do i only need to tell if i use them? E.g. if i dont acivate my irregular unit, do i need to tell that im not using my irregular order that turn?
     
  7. Cry of the Wind

    Cry of the Wind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    350
    You have to have your order pool visible to your opponent, it is Open Information. The only orders you can hide are for things that are not on the table like HD or AD troops. You don't have to use the order but you have to show that it exists.
     
  8. Gwaernydd

    Gwaernydd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    209
    But you dont have to allocate an unspent irregular order, or am i mistaken? I lay it beside my orders, but as long as i dont use it, i dont have to tell who it belongs to, just to which pool.
     
  9. Cry of the Wind

    Cry of the Wind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    350
    Irregular orders are not actually part of the order pool at all. Their owner is part of a combat group and you're allowed to ask that (though it seems when in Camo state that causes some confusion) so normally we just put them next to that combat groups order pool. If you never use the order then there is nothing to reveal.
     
    Gwaernydd likes this.
  10. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    The only orders that are supposed to be placed specifically next to the trooper are impetuous (this is clumsy and often ignored). Irregular orders simply need to be "on the table" i.e. visible to your opponent.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation