Firing into CC: Template weapon and no LOS

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by sebastiaan, Jan 28, 2018.

  1. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, Rules question.

    Firing at a mini that is in base to base contact will give a -6MOD with the chance to hit your own mini.

    How does this map to:
    • Template weapons, that cover only 1 of the 2 minis
    • If you only have LOS on 1 of he 2 minis

    Kind Regards,
    Sebas
     
  2. Pietras404

    Pietras404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    27
    1) From wiki:

    2) MOD -6 is for firing at engaged Trooper - no difference if your trooper can see both minis or not.
     
    sebastiaan likes this.
  3. mightymuffin

    mightymuffin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    92
    2) You need to have LoS to the enemy model, (i.e. who you're shooting at), but that's all - same as if they weren't engaged.
     
  4. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks guys for the input.

    But to validate on the exact language
    As I'm not declaring a attack on a friendly trooper (hes just in the area of the template), can i still fire templates at enemies in CC?
     
  5. chromedog

    chromedog Less than significant minion

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    2,709
    Template Weapons on a Close Combat
    Template Weapons that affect at least one trooper engaged in
    a Close Combat affect all troopers in that Close Combat, even
    if some of them are not in direct contact with the Template.
    Bear in mind that troopers cannot declare Attacks against
    their friendly troopers.

    P53 infinity N3 rulebook

    If you declare an attack against a cc engaged unit, you are attacking ALL in that combat. Friendly or otherwise.
     
    Papa Bey likes this.
  6. Teslarod

    Teslarod when in doubt, Yeet

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    4,906
    @sebastiaan most things have already been mentioned, but no one has spelled out what actually happens with a Template BS Attack that would hit a CC with friendly or neutral models in it.

    Template Weapons on a Close Combat
    Template Weapons that affect at least one trooper engaged in a Close Combat affect all troopers in that Close Combat, even if some of them are not in direct contact with the Template. Bear in mind that troopers cannot declare Attacks against their friendly troopers.

    Template weapons and friendly and Neutral troopers
    It is not allowed to declare Attacks against friendly or Neutral troopers. So, if the player declares an Attack with a Template weapon that affects a friendly or Neutral trooper, then that shot is considered null (But not any other shot of the same Burst with no Civilian or Neutral troopers affected by a Template). All those troops who were affected by the nullified shot can still declare ARO.

    In such a situation, if the Template weapon has the Expendable Trait one use is considered spent.

    So to summ it up,
    1. it doesn't matter who is under the template, everyone in the same Close Combat will count as affected even if you only have 1 model under the template.
    2. If there are any Neutral or friendly models part of that Close Combat the template gets cancelled completely, this includes targets inside and outside of the same close combat.
    3. This is true for all sorts of Template Attacks, since for example Explode is a Template and not an Attack (as well as explicitly able to hurt friendly models) there are rare exceptions (as far as I know only Explode).

    In either case the Template hits both models if they are currently Engaged in a Close Combat and the entire Template hit on every Target is cancelled as a result.
    Hope that answers your questions.
     
    Commoner1, E-Warden, Barrogh and 3 others like this.
  7. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes it does. Much appreciated.
    My confusion was on the wording, as you pointed out. Template attacks that affect friendly targets are therefore attacks against that friendly target and therefore, null.

    The reason is that; i was in a situation where my opponent used a ARO:engage to move into cc with another of my minis that was between me and his other miniatures, preventing my active unit from heavy flaming his whole team.......
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    Did you want to use the Heavy Flamethrower on the unit during the order in which your opponent declared Engage (i.e. as your second Short Skill), or in the following order?
     
  9. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    During and following. the ARO engage dodged my template (not a face 2 face roll) and then i couldn't flame him again as he was in CC with another mini.

    Also; As he dodged into CC with the engage. The attach now was a attack targeting a mini in CC, therefore became Null. And because the attach became Null, it also stopped me flaming other minis caught within the same template.

    Is this a correct interpretation?
     
  10. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Yes on the first, not necessarily on the second. He would have had to succeed on his engage (which I think you are saying he did), but even then, the template has been laid and other models are affected too. Template weapons operate with a slightly different timing than normal actions. The template goes down on declaration and affects everything in it and passing through it for the entire order. Also you are never affected by your own template weapon.

    That said, I still get things wrong from time to time, so feel free to challenge my assertions :).
     
    sebastiaan likes this.
  11. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    That's why I asked.

    Engage is resolved in the Resolution step of the Order Sequence. This means that the Engaging model doesn't enter the Engaged state until after you have rolled the order's BS Attacks and ARM/BTS rolls.

    Also remember that any BS Attacks that do not use Direct Template Weapons, such as Blast Mode with a Boarding Shotgun, would be Face To Face with the Engaging model and could result in the Engage failing to move the model. After all, they have to declare ARO before you commit to your BS Attack if you simply remember to always declare Move first and BS Attack as your second Short Skill, so you'll know if you need to shoot with gun or if it's free to flame them.

    Oh an you'll be the one placing your opponent's model, which means you can place it out of the way so you can flame other models.
     
    sebastiaan likes this.
  12. sebastiaan

    sebastiaan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you all for the input. Very educational.

    Much appreciated
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation