Speculative Fire Surprise Shot

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Keyrott, Dec 27, 2017.

  1. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    556
    Any thoughts on the Speculative Surprise Shot?
     
  2. Maniac

    Maniac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Answer for the main question is simple: you can't combine speculative fire with surprise shot.

    Entire Order Skills (like Speculative Fire):
    To declare one of these Skills, the user must expend one Entire Order.

    Short Skills (like Surprise Attack)
    To declare one of these Skills, the user must expend one Short Skill.

    You can't use long + short skill in the same order because:
    one order = 2x short skill OR one order = 1x entire order skill


    No, is not. Read the skill description:
    However, in a BS Attack part of a Coordinated Order, none of the participants could declare Speculative Fire or Intuitive Attack, since these Skills are different than a BS Attack.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Coordinated_Orders
     
  3. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    @Bobman I think it would work, because Speculative Fire lets you make a BS Attack, and Surprise Shot counts as a BS Attack.
     
    Mahtamori and Keyrott like this.
  4. Maniac

    Maniac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    16
    Surprise Shot is an Optional BS Attack that's correct.
    But to activate this Optional BS Attack you need to use half of the order (it is a short skill) and then entire order for Speculative Fire. As far as I know it is possible only in two separate orders :)

    Entire order is something that using... entire order to make effect ;)
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    BS Attack (the named Common Skill) is also a Short Skill, so that argument stops Speculative Fire from working at all.
     
    Robock and Keyrott like this.
  6. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    556
    Yep. The more I look at the more I think my first thought was wrong. Thanks.
     
    Keyrott likes this.
  7. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    The rules need a rewrite, is really what it is.
     
    theradrussian and Ginrei like this.
  8. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,589
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    Well, considering how you can ARO against an enemy hacking your model with a bullet (LoF conditioned) and that makes it a Face to Face roll, I don't see how it's relevant to "re-label" to BS attack a hacking attack (which won't lose its "comms attack" label anyway).

    RAW I see no reason against stacking both. The fact that Speculative Fire is a long order while Surprise Shot is a short order would have no weight here, since the Long Order would superseed that (however, there is room to say "surprise shot is its own kind of attack, while speculative fire is another one").

    The "real life" explanation is that, in Infinity, you (as a trooper/Lt) have a bird's eye of the battlefield thanks to something akin to a Tactical Network (a minimap in a shooting game). In that regard, you know the origin of a normal enemy trooper "using Speculative Fire" (throwing grenades in an arc without line of sight) which gives you a small edge in calculating where would the projectile land. However, if a "ghost" (a marker, registered as tentative contact or even friendly) is the origin, you get little to no warning, explainig why you would try to dodge at -9 instead of -6: the grenade landing at your feet is a complete surprise.

    As for the brokeness of the combo... we are talking about 1 entire order to enter marker state, and another entire order for a single dice at -6 (plus/minus distance modifiers), not to mention you need a trooper with both a marker state and a terminal template weapon. The troops able to do that are, I think:
    • Shinobu Kitsune (with smoke grenades, so... not really relevant).
    • Foxtrot (CD 11 LGL 20pts 1SWC).
    • Uxía McNeill (with smoke grenades)
    • Hunzakut (CD 11 LGL 18pts 0.5SWC).
    • Intruder (CD13 grenades, from 35pts 0SWC).
    • Prowler (CD 12 grenades 31pts profile).
    • Igao (stun grenades, 25 or 27 pts 0SWC)
    • Clipsos (Nimbus plus grenades)
    • Saito Togane (with smoke grenades)
    So 9 troops could do this, but 4 do not require a target (smoke and Nimbus+), leaving the non-lethal Stun Grenades of the Igao, the Foxtrot and the Hunzakut with Light Grenade Launchers, and the Intruders and Prowlers with Phis-powered Grenades.
     
    #28 xagroth, Dec 28, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
    Keyrott likes this.
  9. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    But Speculative Fire says you can make a BS Attack - it does not say you can make a Surprise Shot. I know Surprise Shot has "bs attack" under traits, but that isn't really defined and can't be taken to mean anything.
     
  10. Bobman

    Bobman MERC

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    556
    This was kinda my reasoning to begin with.
     
  11. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    Surprise Shot is a BS Attack, as stated in the FAQ.
     
    Keyrott likes this.
  12. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,589
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    Ok, I think @Maniac has hit the bullseye with the Structure of an Order reference:

    Of course, it can be argued further ("it refers to combine two entire orders" and the like), but I think that would be like beating a dead horse, so regardless of other interactions, the bottom line would be: Speculative Fire is an entire order skill, and as such it cannot mix with other orders.

    As a sidenote, in spanish the expression "no son combinables de ninguna manera" might be better translated as "cannot be combined in any way", because of the verb refers to the third person of the plural.
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
     
    Keyrott likes this.
  14. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,589
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    The problem with that is how we read the skill "card". As I tend to, "BS Attack" is the name of the Skill, and "short skill/ARO" refers to the Order Composition, while "Attack" indicates the type. In that regard, Speculative Fire is its own skill, of the Attack type (like BS Attack), requiring a Short Order.
    Our disagreement would come from the first Bullet Point in the Speculative Fire skill, but frankly as I read the skill cards the effects of that bullet point would be to change it for the Bullet Points 1, 2 and 4 of the BS Attack skill card.
     
  15. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    Again, as per the FAQ, Surprise Shot is a BS Attack.

    So any argument that stops you using Surprise Shot as part of Speculative Fire also stops you using BS Attack.
     
    Keyrott likes this.
  16. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,589
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    Sorry, but Speculative Fire is labeled as "Attack", then inside its effects sends you to do a B1 BS Attack. Surprise shot is labeled as "BS Attack", and then it says that you are making a BS attack on the first bullet point of the effects (" the user's BS attack or Hacking attack and the enemy..."). That's why I say we are disagreeing in how the skill card should be read.
    Please note that the other skill mentioned in the FAQ (Forward Observer) is also labeled as BS Attack.

    For your conclusion to be right, then both Surprise Shot and Speculative Fire should be labeled as BS Attack, in which case it would be correct to say that any argument stoping the use of Surprise Shot as part of Speculative Fire breaks BS Attack. As things stand, you are making a paralelism between oranges and apples (both fruits, but different).

    Fun fact: CC Attack is labeled as "Attack" aswell...
     
  17. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    Speculative Fire doesn't need to have the BS Attack label for my argument to work, and that would add new issues anyway.

    Skills with the BS Attack Label count as a BS Attack. So I'm not comparing oranges and apples, I'm comparing oranges with oranges.

    This means that when Speculative Fire says (paraphrased) 'make a single BS Attack Short Skill' you can replace 'BS Attack' with any Skill that has the BS Attack Label.
     
  18. Whyrocknodie

    Whyrocknodie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    101
    Wouldn't the logic dictate that the surprise shot has no effect on this type of attack? My thinking is that a grenade coming over a wall is a surprise whether or not the trooper throwing it is wearing camouflage or not.

    I thought that it is supported in the system by any attempt to Dodge suffering a -3 attempt because there is no LoF to the attacker for the template, which is essentially the same as the Surprise Attack rule.
     
  19. Keyrott

    Keyrott Nomad Handyman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    1,244
  20. Keyrott

    Keyrott Nomad Handyman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Thank you guys for the input btw, I can always count on the forums to get to the bottom of a rules question. You doods rule.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation