Mines behind Low Cover

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por SPYNTBG, 24 Abr 2018.

Etiquetas:
  1. SPYNTBG

    SPYNTBG New Member

    Registrado:
    25 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    10
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    0
    Hey all,
    I have a mine sitting behind a low wall, which is not high enough to provide total cover to a S2 model, but is enough for a S0 mine.
    The mine is currently undiscovered, and still S2, when my opponents (very evil) Muttawiah says hello and throws smoke on him. The Mutt, not realising it is a mine, then walks closer and intuitive attacks the mine with his Chain Rifle-

    There are two things can could happen now:
    1. The mine is hit as it is S2 and not in Total Cover.
    2. I am forced to reveal that it is S0 and thus is not hit, as it is in Total Cover.

    What happens in this situation? Also, if it is option 1, is the mine able to detonate, counting as being S2 at the time?

    I lean towards option 2, because the mine is actually S0 and only pretending to be S2, but really I don't know.
     
  2. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.270
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.107
    It's going to be option 2. The camo silhouette is S2 and so is a valid target, but the actual piece of equipment is S0 and will be in total cover from the attack. If your opponent passes their WIP roll, you must inform them that it's an S0 piece of equipment and was not hit.

    Technically you don't have to say it's equipment, but you should. That's the only way you could have that sort of S2/S0 swap, and it's a rare enough occurrence that your opponent might otherwise be confused and think you're trying to cheat.
     
    unclesrouce, Wolf, Flipswitch y 6 otros les gusta esto.
  3. Icchan

    Icchan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    802
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    965
    I would say the camo silhouette is hit and you reveal the mine, but the mine itself is not hit so you don't to roll an armor save for it.
     
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Which would mean that the template would go down: and the hapless Angus standing next to the camo token would wear the template to the face. Right?
     
  5. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.246
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    858
    Yes, shotgun templates even blows up on a holo projection. So you declare an attack, place the template, and the template apply even if the first model was actually not there (either a small mine or holo).
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    For what it's worth, I can't see anything in the rules that would cancel the Camouflaged state of the Mine, as it hasn't made an ARM Roll.
     
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    I'm fairly certain that's not true in the case of a Discover + Shoot vs a Mine where S0 is in Total Cover. Due:

    Because the BS Attack is declared against the S0 equipment not the S2 marker.

    Whereas Intuitive attack is declared against the marker; so it's requirements are still valid even though it can't hit the S0 equipment.
     
  8. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    How is this resolved then?

    Opponent declares Intuitive Attack.
    You say 'I do nothing'
    Intuitive Attack succeeds.
    You tell your opponent that 'the object beneath the marker is in total cover from the template and isn't hit'. Marker remains on the table.
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Holoechos are sophisticated enough that Impact Template Weapons treat them as actual targets. It's not an equivalent situation to Camouflage markers which are just a 'best guess' at where something might be present.

    As far as I can see, yes.
     
  10. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.246
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    858
    So.... if the fusilier caught in the declared blast was dodging (because he was looking the wrong corner), it would change from FtF to Normal ? Or it would go from having an ARO to not having any ARO because the template was never there ?
     
  11. Zewrath

    Zewrath Elitist Jerk

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.000
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.484
    Top kek! Just when I thought Infinity couldn’t get more convoluted! :joy:
     
  12. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.157
    Fusilier's dodge would be F2F with the Intuitive Attack.
     
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Note: this scenario refers to Discover+BS Attack, not vs an Inutive attack (@colbrook 's answer is correct for Intuitive attack).

    It'd be considered null:

    "If the Player declares a Skill and, when he applies its Effects, he realizes the Requirements are not met, then the Skill is considered null. "

    One of the requirements of declaring Dodge is that you get hit by a template from Out of LOF, so (assuming no other requirements were met) then the 'considered null' clause applies.

    OTOH had they BS Attacked/Hacked etc back rather than Dodging, then it would become Normal rolls (assuming requirements are met etc).


    Wrong, so very wrong.
     
    #13 inane.imp, 24 Abr 2018
    Última edición: 24 Abr 2018
  14. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    If the main target is invalid after discover during resolution then the bs attack skill will become idle and everyone nearby is safe as bs attack would not occur.
     
    A FatherKnowsBest le gusta esto.
  15. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    This is going off-topic pretty hard (Discover+BS Attack is very different from Intuitive Attack), but yes they'd get a Normal Roll because the shotgun shot would auto-fail for not having a target, much as it would for failing the Discover Roll.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  16. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    And the requirement for the Dodge is that the template is placed not that the template actually goes down. Right?
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.157
    Whoops, I thought it was dodging the Intuitive Attack, sorry guys.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  18. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    You still get to dodge even if the shotgun guy totally whiffs his roll
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  19. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Nah that got solved a few posts back we were asking and answering the ancillary questions. :)
     
    A Robock le gusta esto.
  20. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Yeah I got there eventually :)

    I had the 'considered Null' rule on my mind and applied it badly.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation