Repeaters Vs Stealth

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por paraelix, 17 Abr 2018.

  1. paraelix

    paraelix Seed Embryo Scholar

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.163
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.206
    From a conversation in the Combined forum;

    A Hackable model with Stealth moves through a Hacker's ZoC - Hacker can't hack because of Stealth.

    A Hackable model with Stealth moves through a Hacker's ZoC - Hacker has Sixth Sense - Hacker can hack because Stealth is negated by SS.

    A Hackable model with Stealth moves through a Repeater's ZoC - Can a Hacker friendly to that repeater hack them?

    The crux seems to be interpretation of the below;
    Does the equipment deny the use of the Stealth skill for those who use the equipment - Hackers? Or only for actions taken *by* the equipment - which in the case of a Repeater would be nothing?
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.155
    This bit, the Repeater is extending the Hacker's Hacking Area, not affecting the model with Stealth. It is still the hacker that is making the ARO, so stealth is still effective (unless the hacker has 6th Sense).
     
    A chromedog, ijw y inane.imp les gusta esto.
  3. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Also see the discussion on how this applies to the multiple activations.

    Tl;dr if any trooper without Stealth triggers an ARO then any active trooper is a valid target (provided all other requirements are met).
     
  4. paraelix

    paraelix Seed Embryo Scholar

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.163
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.206
    Just had a look in the stickied Hacking thread and couldn't see...
     
  5. paraelix

    paraelix Seed Embryo Scholar

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.163
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.206
    Nvm. Found it - about 4 pages in.
     
  6. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.625
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.624
    Mmmm... Requierements of Sixth Sense say that it doesn't work through repeaters for N1 (it only works in the models zone of control), and for N2 to work the trooper needs to be attacked (thus breaking stealth, so the only practical effect is no "surprise hack" from markers).

    Please refer to the difference between Hacking Area and Zone of Control: repeaters expand the HA, but nothing in the game expands the ZoC
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  7. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    It's not necessary for SSL1/2 to work through Repeaters: it's that Stealth doesn't work vs a trooper with SSL1/2. It's a property of Stealth, not Sixth Sense: moreover, it's unaffected by ZOC.

    Also, Repeaters lets Hackers hack within the Repeater's ZOC " as if it was their own." So if they can do it within their ZOC they can do it within their Repeater's ZOC (provided it's hacking). Whether this allows Hackers with SSL1 to delay their hacking ARO within their Repeater's ZOC is up for debate and has never been properly settled (generally it's played as not though).
     
  8. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.625
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.624
    That is correct, and an oversight that makes all the definition of Hacking Zone irrelevant... if a repeater effectively expands allied hacker's zone of control, what use is to define a Hacking zone?

    Both require for the Sixth Sense trooper to be the target of an attack, I already covered that with my mention to "surprise hack" from hackers in marker state.
    It is irrelevant, thought, since with that bullet point from Repeaters in hand any hacker with SS1 ignores Stealth from any model, regardless of what order they declared, if they touch a Repeater's ZoC.

    Kinda funny to see Kerr-Nau linked with 3-4 Unidrons/Rodok... @ijw might I ask for further input in this? :S
     
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    No they don't. Stealth not working against troopers with Sixth Sense is part of the Stealth rules, so any Requirements for Sixth Sense are irrelevant.
     
    A Hecaton y inane.imp les gusta esto.
  10. Aspect Graviton

    Aspect Graviton Friendly Alien Overlord
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    789
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.800
    the only case I've seen is the classified which states the hackers ZOC rather than their hacking area, they are separate things but it's generally moot apart from on that occasion
     
  11. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.625
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.624
    I'm really slow today... the reference to marker state is because of Surprise Shot. You cannot make a Surprise Shot against a SS trooper if you are inside of his Zone of Control.
    My question to you is, since Repeater states that the hacker may ARO to enemy troopers doing orders "as if they were in their ZoC", then SS1 encompasses the whole Hacking Zone of that hacker.

    Let's place an example: for that interpretation, let's assume Kerr-nau (in total cover from everything) linked with 3-4 Unidrons, and a repeater (40 cm/16 inches away from Kerr Nau) in the way of a linked Myrmidon Hacker (another 3 myrmidons). The Myrmidon link activates and declares Move, within the repeater's ZoC. And let's say the Link declares Move again.
    So, according to that interpretation, Kerr Nau can ARO the Myrmidon Hacker, because the SS granted by the link gets applied through the repeater, and negates the Myrmidon's Stealth from Martial Arts.

    Is that example's conclusion correct?
     
  12. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    For the Hacking ARO, it's still the other way around - Stealth itself doesn't apply against troopers with Sixth Sense.

    For Surprise Shot it's irrelevant for Fireteams because Sixth Sense L2 has no range restriction for ignoring Surprise Shot.

    That just leaves Sixth Sense L1 and Surprise Shot. I would argue that Sixth Sense works in this case, because it's only by treating the Repeater's ZoC as the Hacker's for Hacking ARO purposes that's letting the Hacker ARO in the first place.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    So can a Hacker with SSL1 delay an ARO within the ZOC of a Repeater, foregoing any ARO that isn't Hacking?
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Looks like it. Not that they could react with anything but a Hacking Program.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  15. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    That's all you need :)
     
  16. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.625
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.624
    Yes, but that is an active turn interaction, in ARO (of which the HVT is not capable of) it seems RAW like ZoC is the Hacking Zone.

    Unless we go full RAW and say that "like his own control zone" is not the same thing as "it is his own control zone", that is.
    Which I don't find productive because it chains arguments ad nauseam.
     
  17. daboarder

    daboarder Force One Commander
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    26 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.686
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.510
    Zoc and hacking area are two distinct things.

    This is explicit in the rules ijw. Linked hackers holding via ss2 to anything in repeater area is really not on.

    All the rules deal with ZOC and Hacking area as two distinct things a hacker Delaying ARO through a repeater has been discussed before and always pointed out that hacking area does not equal ZoC
     
    #17 daboarder, 17 Abr 2018
    Última edición: 17 Abr 2018
  18. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    If it doesn't count as their ZoC for reactive purposes, they don't get to ARO.
     
  19. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.625
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.624
    Oh, I checked with my local Warcor+gametester, and he was quite clear that RAI no, there is no frigging way. Squared RAW, though, and being a rules lawyer points that yeah, a (more than likely unwanted) interaction between rules allow it.

    *shrug*
     
  20. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    Based on?
     
    A paraelix le gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation