Timing of Atom?

Tema en 'Rules' iniciado por Plebian, 8 Abr 2018.

  1. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    Wasn't sure if I was playing this right or not:

    I am underdog.
    I declare an attack.
    My opponent plays no cards.
    I play cards adding dice to my roll.
    Can my opponent then play Atom?

    Thanks.
     
  2. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    689
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    675
    Yes he can. You always can use tactics in respond of your oponents, the thing about Underdog is missleading an only applys when both players want to use a tactic at the same moment.
     
    A Roadrunner7431 le gusta esto.
  3. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    Wait, really? Can you explain to me the order of operations for that?
     
  4. Fathi Amirmoez

    Fathi Amirmoez Active Member

    Registrado:
    2 Abr 2018
    Mensajes:
    57
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    44
    I was going to agree with zlavin, as there didn't seem to be any timing or limitations on when Tactics can be played (other than that stated on the card, obviously).

    But tucked away under "Simple Rolls" on pg.12, and "Face to Face Rolls" (pg.7), both have:
    "1. Tactics: [...] If both players want to play tactics, the underdog chooses who does so first."

    Which implies that you have a single, dedicated slot within which you can play (any number of) your tactics, either before or after the opponent (as decided by the underdog).

    Though this seems counter-intuitive to the way Atom (and especially No!) seem designed to work. Obviously card text takes precedence, but nonetheless it'd be nice to have someone like -V- step in and clear this up.
     
  5. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.347
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.830
    We're still waiting on confirmation from @-V- on whether there is a single step for playing Tactics or whether you take turns playing Tactics.
     
  6. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    The way Tactics are meant to be played is similar to rise your bet playing poker:

    -I play Take Aim
    -Hmm, then I play Dodge
    -Well, I see your Dodge and I play a Focus
    -It seems to be a really important Roll to you... Atom
    -D'oh!

    Underdog is meant to be used when:
    -Are you playing any Tactics before rolling?
    -Yes
    -Me too
    -I'm going first
    -Not, me!
    -Ok, I'm Underdog. I choose playing first.
    -D'oh!

    :wink:
     
    volgo, Zewrath, Roadrunner7431 y 2 otros les gusta esto.
  7. Plebian

    Plebian Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    313
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    582
    @-V- thank you for the answer.
    What about:

    Player A: Take Aim
    Player B: I don't want to play
    Player A: Dodge
    Player B: I would like to play Atom now


    Can player B play a card?
     
  8. Roadrunner7431

    Roadrunner7431 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    465
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    354
    I would think that each player may play Tactics until both players pass in consecutive chances. In my opinion just because Player B passed once does not mean that he loses the opportunity to play later. In fact since Tactics cards are chosen secretly I would think that just the threat of "Atom" by an opponent that has Laxmee on their four character team might be a deterrent to load up many dice on a single roll. "Atom" has no limitations on when it may be used before an opponent makes a roll. Laxmee could be in the Infirmary or on the Bench or out of activation sequence.
     
    A -V- le gusta esto.
  9. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Player A: Take Aim
    Player B: I don't want to play
    Player A: Dodge
    Player B: Still don't want
    Player A: Focus
    Player B: Ok. This my limit: Atom.
    Player A: D'oh! (or this is the right time to play NO!, ain't?)

    Timing for playing Tactics is "open" as you can see. As @Roadrunner7431 says is more about the possible threat in your hand than to get trapped your opponent in this timing.
     
    A Plebian, ijw y volgo les gusta esto.
  10. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.347
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.830
    What happens if both players 'pass'? Can it start again?
     
  11. zlavin

    zlavin Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    689
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    675
    If both players "pass" don't you just roll the dices?

    If you mean a last second "Oh wait, i'm gonna use one "Focus", then yes it start again.
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  12. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.347
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.830
    Yes, that's exactly what I meant, thanks!
     
  13. psychoticstorm

    psychoticstorm Aleph's rogue child
    Moderator

    Registrado:
    4 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.749
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    12.421
    Oh I thought if you passed you passed...
     
  14. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.347
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.830
    Which is why I brought it up as I thought the same.
     
  15. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Playing between friends I think it'll never be a problem if both want to make another round of Tactics. Thinking about OP, well, in that case the referee must decide. I think it's part of the game.
     
  16. apokalypsetest

    Registrado:
    2 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    26
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7
    The way I read it is: Both players can choose to pass or not to pass however they like. There is no way one player can pass and not be able to still play a card after the decision of his oponent.
     
  17. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Exactly.
     
    A Plebian le gusta esto.
  18. nehemiah

    nehemiah Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Abr 2018
    Mensajes:
    793
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.124
    Just had to look up Atom...That card is dirty.
     
    A DeathFrog y ijw les gusta esto.
  19. -V-

    -V- A! Team member
    CB Staff

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.271
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.583
    Yeah, so dirty. :sunglasses:
     
    A DeathFrog y ijw les gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation