Re-camo out of LoS but in hacking area of enemy

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by Choofa, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,680
    Likes Received:
    3,677
    When the model receive the ARM/BTS roll, he is not (yet) in the Camouflaged state...
     
    Teslarod and Robock like this.
  2. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    Where does it state that this is the only way to be in Camouflaged state? It's a permissive statement not a restrictive statement.

    Again, you cancel a state by fulfilling one of it's Cancellation clauses.
     
  3. C0MR4DE

    C0MR4DE Malfunctioning Unidron

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    75
    Just give one example :)
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
     
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    Basing it on older answers by yourself (specifically those with regards to activating Mimetism to cancel Camouflaged state)
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    Which I've subsequently pointed out is wrong, for the same reason as in this thread. :grinning:
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    15,367
    That's fair enough, it's just not always easy to remember.

    I honestly think having a trooper end up camouflaged and in unconscious state is hilarious. Especially since the rules for Camo state disallows anyone from moving into Base to Base contact.
     
    ijw likes this.
  8. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    14,830
    'I'll just doctor that Scout. Hey, where did he go?!?'
     
    Mahtamori and xagroth like this.
  9. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    5,592
    Well, if the "doctoring" involves a Medikit, I can understand the camo working against the allied troop... XD
     
  10. Zewrath

    Zewrath Elitist Jerk

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    He actually is. It’s covered in the order order expenditure sequence. After measuring and dice rolls are made, you move on to the next step, which you then apply your successful order and make ARM/BTS save.

    http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Order_Expenditure_Sequence
     
  11. Zewrath

    Zewrath Elitist Jerk

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    Sorry, didn’t see your first post. I was tired and only read your second post. :(
     
  12. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    They are both listed at step 8. It is equally valid to "make BTS/ARM save and apply your successful order" as it is the other way around. If it was "and then" instead of only "and" then that would infer a sequence. Otherwise, everything is by default simultaneous.

    An order could even have multiple effects and armor saves to make, you could go at it one model at a time if you want. Just remember that everything is simultaneous. It is important when it come to scoring killshot.

    edit - actually i'm not sure anymore that there is no timing. The cancellation timing* is when you received the hit that cause a ARM roll, not when you make your ARM roll. But receiving the hit is done at step 8 when you "apply your successful ARO". So there is sequencing; but that said, i still don't think there is a hard sequencing made between the recamo order and the unrelated hack ARO to know which one came first.

    *i was looking into timing because another cancellation clause is to have made a non movement. if I say that taking a hit while doing a recamo counts as if I was already camo, then the recamo itself would count as if I was already camo breaking myself out, but then I noticed the timing on that cancellation clause is on declaration of recamo, not on performing (ie. applying the effect) a recamo.
     
    #32 Robock, Dec 1, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
  13. Zewrath

    Zewrath Elitist Jerk

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,000
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    I’m not so sure anymore of my claim either. Mostly because I’ve tried to read the Spanish rules for the order expenditure sequence, in order to answer to your reply, but the wording in Spanish just made me more confused. It merely states on step 8, that you apply the effects of successful order(s), then proceeds to say “for example rolls for ARM/BTS”. I’m not sure though, it’s been nearly a decade since I took Spanish courses in gymnasium, so my Spanish is rusty.
     
  14. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Understood, although I guess with the new forum it would be prudent to point that out. Again though, you are/were privy to the intent of the rules in most(?) cases, so your insight carries a bit more weight than us random forumites.
     
  15. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,153
    Why can it not be resolved simultaneously, just like when wounds are gained and lost at the same time?

    The model enters camouflage and takes a BTS roll, Camouflage is both activated and cancelled so the net result is no change (trooper remains a model).
     
    Ginrei and Sabin76 like this.
  16. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    That's my argument. The only way I can see it not being this way is if you DO introduce an order (that doesn't exist) and that the BTS roll happens before the effects.

    However, the "receiving a successful hit that..." wording is interesting. Do you count as receiving the hit once the opponent's roll is deemed successful in step 7, or on application of the effects of that successful roll in step 8?

    I guess the question would be the same as asking, "When does a trooper count as receiving a hit from a DTW?" Step 7 or step 8?
     
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,153
    It doesn't matter when the trooper counts as receiving the hit because the effects of that hit aren't resolved until Step 8.
     
  18. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    I'd posit that it might matter because there could be a distinction between "receiving a successful hit" and "receiving the effects of a successful hit."

    If it turns out to be that the two are the same, I'm fine with that, but I'm not sure if we should assume that outright. Say you are hit with a FT. You definitely apply the effects of that in step 8 (burning your ODD/Camo/etc.), but don't you necessarily count as having been hit (for any and all places where that wording exists) before you start applying the effects of that hit?
     
    Robock likes this.
  19. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,153
    I'd posit that a hit is the effect of a successful roll in Step 7, and therefore applied in step 8.
     
    Sabin76 likes this.
  20. Ginrei

    Ginrei Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    428
    I have to look at these issues like math to come to any conclusion. For me the important thing to remember is nothing actually happens to my trooper until the whole order is resolved.

    To @colbrook's point, a 1W Protheon trooper gaining one wound and losing one in a CC attack doesn't reach 2W or go Unconscious, it stays at 1W because the net gain is zero. Which to me sounds the same as entering the camo state and cancelling the camo state in the same order.
    1. Tuareg AH + simultaneous order resolution(Step 7: Tuareg succeeds TO camo roll + Ninja KH succeeds normal roll with ARO)
    2. Tuareg AH + simultaneous order resolution(Step 8: Tuareg is camouflaged + Tuareg makes BTS save roll)
    3. = A Taureg not in camo state (he got hit forcing a BTS save) and taking a wound if he failed his BTS roll. Also note that if the Ninja missed his normal roll the Taureg would enter the camo state.
    Hopefully I'm not completely wrong... because the implications of a camo'd trooper moving while in LoF to a point they are no longer in LoF and suddenly becoming visible during that first short order if their second short order revealed them... drives me nuts.
     
    Sabin76 and colbrook like this.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation