Counterintelligence and command tokens use problem

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by BrotherSeptimus, Mar 3, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrotherSeptimus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2023
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does counterintelligence allow to take 4 orders from opponent order pool in first turn?

    Rules state:
    "The player who has the second Player Turn can make Strategic Use of Command Tokens in the Tactical Phase of the adversary's first Player Turn. By spending one single Command Token at the end of the adversary's Order Count, they can choose one of the following options:
    - Remove two Regular Orders from the adversary's Order Pool, for this Turn only. The player using the Command Token will decide from which Combat Group or Groups the Orders will be removed from."

    And counterintelligence states:
    "Alternatively, this Special Skill counteracts the limit on Command Token use imposed by the Strategic Use of a Command Token, increasing it to two."

    So, when my opponent goes second, can he really spend two command tokens and take away four orders from my pool in first round just by having model with counterintelligence? Or is he misinterpreting the rules somehow?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    232
    No he cannot. If you are going second counterintelligence does nothing. It only counters what the second player can do to the first player
     
    chromedog and BrotherSeptimus like this.
  3. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    2,541
    No.

    Counterintelligence's first Effects bullet point refers to the second kind of Strategic Use of a Command Token you can do.

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Counterintelligence
    "Alternatively, this Special Skill counteracts the limit on Command Token use imposed by the Strategic Use of a Command Token, increasing it to two."

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Command_Tokens#Command_Tokens:_Strategic_Use
    "Prevent the adversary from using more than one single Command Token during that first Turn."

    - - - - -

    This means that the player going second against the Counterintelligence player can use a command token to...
    "Prevent the adversary from using more than two Command Token during that first Turn."
     
    #3 Diphoration, Mar 3, 2023
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2023
  4. BrotherSeptimus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2023
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank You so much! :pray:
     
    chromedog and Diphoration like this.
  5. Ghost_86

    Ghost_86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    16
    There is no mention in the rules that you can use any option twice. Just that you can use two command token.

    I play this that I could strip my opponent from 2 orders and use a second token to do any other of the aviable options.
     
  6. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,154
    That's not what Counterintelligence does.

    If you are going first and your opponent uses a command token to prevent you from using more than one single Command Token during that first Turn, Counterintelligence lets you use two instead.

    Counterintelligence has no effect if you're going second.
     
  7. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    45
    Is it really legal? I thought that "spending one single Command Token" means you can use only one CT here.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
    You are reading it correctly. Strategic Use of command tokens does not have any text that allows more than one command token to be used. Executive Use and Tactical Use, by comparison, does.
     
    Diphoration, Qwerinaga and chromedog like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation