Suppressive Fire confusion.

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Bard, 11 Mar 2018.

  1. Bard

    Bard Member

    Registrado:
    24 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    29
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7
    A quick question about a situation in a game a couple of friends just played that we haven't been able to understand how it should work...

    The situation:

    A Chimera in Cover declares BS Attack (Eclipse Grenade) on her position, PH 13 (+3 bonus to range). Rolls 15.

    Three enemy units declare the following AROs:
    * Enemy1 Attack with a Chain Rifle
    * E2 Attack with Combi Rifle rolls 7.
    * E3 is in Suppressive Fire with a Combi Rifle, rolls hits with 11

    Now, since the Eclipse would block LoF to everyone the two Combi Rifles are FtF rolls.
    What would happen in this situation?

    What I think is:
    1. E1 attack resolves normally
    2. E2 misses since 7 is less than 15.
    3. E3 hits, since it gives a -3 to the FtF roll and the Chimera roll fails against him. The grenade doesn't stick.

    The other theory:
    1. E1 resolves normally
    2. E3 gives a -3 to the grenade launch making it fail, E2 and E3 both hit.
     
  2. Cartographer

    Cartographer Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    738
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.216
    E1 hits, the eclipse grenade has no effect on template weapons.
    E2 is F2F, the Chimera wins the F2F.
    E3 is F2F, the enemy wins as the Chimera fails.

    Since the Chimera didn't win all the F2F, no eclipse is placed. The Chimera needs to pass 2 armour rolls (one from E1 and one from E3).
     
    chromedog, Andergdet, Sabin76 y 4 otros les gusta esto.
  3. Bard

    Bard Member

    Registrado:
    24 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    29
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7
    Thanks!
     
  4. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    To follow on, what happens if E3 fired in suppressive and missed? The chimera passed the smoke against e1 and e2 but technically failed the smoke against e3 even though the enemy missed to.

    Does the smoke stay in the ground?
     
  5. Cervantes3773

    Cervantes3773 Rogue AI
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    731
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.178
    The -3 MOD from E3 being in the suppressive fire state applies whether they hit or not - MODs are determined during resolution and don't retroactively unapply themselves.

    The Chimera got +3 MOD for throwing the grenade within 8".

    Against E2, the Chimera needed a 16, and passed. This cancels E2's combi ARO.

    Against E3, it needed 13s - +3 for range and -3 MOD for E3 being in supressive fire. It failed the roll.

    Each FtF roll is resolved independently of the rest (so E2's ARO is still beaten). However, because the Chimera was not successful on ALL its Eclipse FtF rolls, the template is not placed.

    Had the Chimera rolled a 12 or 13, it would have beaten E2's roll of 7 and E3's roll of 11, cancelling both shots AND placing the template.

    Had the Chimera rolled an 11, it would have beaten E2 and tied with E3. By tying with E3, both rolls/effects are nullified. This does not change the result for E2, but E3 doesn't hit and the Chimera's smoke is not placed.
     
    A Cartographer, ChoTimberwolf y kinginyellow les gusta esto.
  6. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    Awesome, thank you kindly.
     
    A Cervantes3773 le gusta esto.
  7. Cervantes3773

    Cervantes3773 Rogue AI
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    731
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.178
    Happy to help. I added some more explanation as you quoted me, so please be sure to go back and read that. :)
     
  8. harl3quin

    harl3quin Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    17 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    35
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    50
    the smoke is a special kind of dodge.
    The -3 from the supressive fire should not apply to the smoke dodge.
     
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.081
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.389
    Smoke is such a special kind of dodge that it is not a dodge at all. Smoke is a BS Attack.
     
    Barrogh, Aldo, Sabin76 y 3 otros les gusta esto.
  10. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    Not actual important. Suppressive fire gives a -3 to all ftf rolls. If the target tries to dodge, they are still at a -3.
     
    A chromedog, Aldo y emperorsaistone les gusta esto.
  11. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    @ijw I hope you are petitioning CB heavily to remove this kind of language from the next set of rules! It causes far more confusion than necessary.:joy::joy::joy:
     
    A Zewrath le gusta esto.
  12. System_Override

    Registrado:
    7 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    36
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17
    Why would the grenade thrower get a -3 modifier on their throw. They are not targetting the sup fire mdoel, but the ground. In my opinion the grenade succeeds and the grenade trower suffers one chain rifle hit.
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    It doesn't matter what's being targeted, just that it's a Face to Face Roll.

    The Eclipse Grenade is being thrown into a position to try and avoid the Suppressive Fire, therefore it's a Face to Face Roll.
     
    A chromedog y System_Override les gusta esto.
  14. System_Override

    Registrado:
    7 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    36
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17
    I had not realised it worked that way. Thanks for clarifying. That makes suppression fire even better.:)
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation