Can Troopers do ranged attacks on themselves?

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por Mahtamori, 13 Abr 2022.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Given how there are NWI Doctors and Paramediks and how Medikits often surpass the Doctor skill; can a unit shoot themselves with a BS Attack if they have a weapon that allows friendlies to be targeted such as a MediKit?
    I would personally assume that they aren't allowed to as it violates the "used remotely" part of a Medikit, but it's not all that obvious.
     
    #1 Mahtamori, 13 Abr 2022
    Última edición: 13 Abr 2022
  2. Errhile

    Errhile A traveller on the Silk Road

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.747
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.092
    Um, do you absolutely need to pull a BS attack to use Medkit on a model in base-to-base contact? I recall it wasn't so in previous editions, but maybe in N4 it is different.

    Since it has been estabilished that a model is in BtB with itself (originally regarding Baggage being used to refill Disposable weapons)...
     
  3. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    14 Sep 2021
    Mensajes:
    164
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    242
    You do if you want the burst bonus from a haris
     
    A Mahtamori le gusta esto.
  4. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    What Iskandar wrote, it's about the burst bonuses which don't seem capable of applying to a target when used in the "auto-hit" mode. Rindak above all else since they have MediKit +1B and NWI, but also MacHaon and a few others that may find themselves in NWI state and still in a team.
     
  5. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.695
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.691
    Rindak has STR, not W. Medikit has no effect on them
     
    A Errhile y Mahtamori les gusta esto.
  6. Iskandar

    Iskandar Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    14 Sep 2021
    Mensajes:
    164
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    242
    Rindak is STR so can't touch themselves
     
    A Robock, Errhile y Mahtamori les gusta esto.
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Hey cool, that settles the most immediate concern in the Haris comparison in the YJ forums, but the question still remains for other Paramedics :)
     
    A Abrilete le gusta esto.
  8. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    The question would be whether a trooper can draw LoF to itself.

    I can't imagine the designers considered the question. Strictly RAW, the best I can come up with is that "Line of Fire (LoF) is an imaginary straight line that joins any point of the volume of a Model, Token, Marker or valid target to any point of the volume of another." [emphasis added]. Arguably, LoF has to be between one trooper and another, not one trooper and itself.
     
    solkan, Robock, Methuselah y 3 otros les gusta esto.
  9. KGG

    KGG Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    4 Jun 2019
    Mensajes:
    222
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    631
    [Deleted as same conclusion and evidence as @QueensGambit above]
     
    #9 KGG, 13 Abr 2022
    Última edición: 13 Abr 2022
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation