Can a possessed TAG be part of a coordinated order? Is the Possessed TAG profile Regular or Irregular? It provides no orders to the pool, so unsure about this.
Possessed troopers don't become part of one of your Combat Groups, they're just limited to spending Orders from a Group. So you can't Coordinate them at all as there is nobody else in the same Combat Group.
Really thought possessed TAGs become part of the combat group of the hacker or at least it gets its orders from that group? Possessed troopers may be activated and receive Orders from the Order Pool of the player who caused them to enter the Possessed state. The Possessed trooper can only receive Orders from the Order Pool of the same Combat Group as the trooper who caused the possession.
http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Possessed Possessed troopers may be activated and receive Orders from the Order Pool of the player who caused them to enter the Possessed state. The Possessed trooper can only receive Orders from the Order Pool of the same Combat Group as the trooper who caused the possession. Possessed troopers do not generate Orders for the Order Pool of the player who caused them to enter the Possessed state. I'm always happy to accept your rulings and clarifications @ijw, but these rules from the Wiki don’t provide explicit support for your answer by themselves - something's missing. Is there perhaps a formal relationship between providing orders to a combat group (which it says here a Possessed unit doesn’t) and being part of the group (which as you say, a Possessed unit isn’t) that provides an implicit basis for your clarification? Thanks.
Its not in a combat group, thats pretty clear as IJW pointed out. It spends orders from the combat group that the hacker belongs to but is pretty expressly not a part of a combat group. The reasons for this are numerous, not the least because Combat Groups cannot go over 10 troops, and a possessed tag could under that argument make a CG of 11 troops. Unless you can find a statement declaring that the possessed troop goes into a combat group, and you cant because there isnt one, then as IJW pointed out they are not in one.
the TAG belong to the original player's combat group. And it occupy one of the ten model spot until it is actually removed from the table. The original player can't add in more model until it is removed from his combat group (otherwise an exorcism could add him back and go over 10).
That makes a bit more sense thanks, Robock . So the Possessed unit stays in its owners group, but (as we know from the rules ref.s) can receive orders from the group of the unit using Possess. Thus, it can’t use a Coordinated Order because it couldnt be in the same group as the other unit. If this is correct, can anyone provide suitable rules references to back it up?
Okay, so the answer to the OP isn't explicitly written anywhere, but can be implicitly derived from the requirements for Co-ordinated Orders Only troopers with the same Training (Regular/Irregular) and in the same Combat Group can participate in a Coordinated Order. and the absence of any indication that the possessed unit has left the Combat Group it was in... (Not, for what it's worth, that I've personally ever wanted to declare a Co-ordinated Order with a Possessed unit. My recollection of the last time it happened was that I spent every available Order going John Rambo with the TAG, which might not have won me the game, but it did keep me laughing all week long! )
hmm interesting point Points to prove mate ;) Cant act like the bigD in the locker room if you're not acting like you know the rules better than the rest of them. (Note I dont mean you IJW i mean others)
I've never(read 'nearly always') spent the extra points on a wardriver specifically in the hopes of doing this rather than taking the cheaper defensive version... But yeah, this one hinges on what you're not told rather than a hard description, you just apply the status quo to everything until you're told otherwise...
Well, not that I've ever cared about this exact situation as I say, but I am interested to understand how the rules all work together, so spelling out the situation this way is way more useful than not. It's appreciated; thank you.
Just on the minesweeper thing... Specifically says it changes combat group, but only if the combat group isn't full.
Look at all of the differences between the "minesweeper and AI beacon" and "possessed TAG" situations: Mine-swept AI beacon 1. ... provides an order 2. ... Explicitly says that it joins the combat group 3. ... Inlcudes instructions to avoid breaking the 10 model rule. (Unlike second edition...) 4. ... Probably exists as a counter balance to the low cost of the 'order on a stick'. Possessed TAGs don't even provide an order. Not being in the combat group but being able to receive orders certainly looks like a deliberate distinction to me.
Oh, I didn't bring this up to say a possessed trooper should join a combat group, if anything Minesweeper supports that possessed troopers do not join combat groups because it calls out mineswept AI Beacons as actually joining the group and what to do with the order generated if the group ends up being more than 10 troopers. I just brought it up to remind daboarder about situations his argument didn't hold for :)
interestingly though Leviathan actually shows that my point was right, you cant add the AI beacon to the group to push it over 10 orders