1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How CodeOne worked for me…

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Romansky, Aug 21, 2021.

1. Romansky

Romansky Shadowrunner

Hej,

as a noob i would like to share my „user experience“ regarding CodeOne -
    How it worked for me (and for Corvus Belli):

- Stumbled about infinity years ago and was a little unsure because of rule complexity…

- Some years later i saw the CodeOne boxes in my local store (never really recognized the infinity stuff before)

- Searched the net and liked the idea of reduced rules, so i returned to my store an bought some CodeOne boxes.

- got deeper into the game and had 2-3 little games with myself and really quick decided to
    switch to N4 because of more possibilities

- now i love the complexity and im on the road to Infinity N4 now…

- i think CodeOne works perfect as a flyer and door opener, but the magic party is N4

i know this is not a rule question, but i wanted to share this thought…

#1 Romansky, Aug 21, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2021
    Blakhart, Uthoroc and FlipOwl like this.
  2. Lawson

Lawson Well-Known Member

I agree - I came to Infinity almost the same way; quickly shifted from C1 to N4 for the expanded possibilities. C1 is a bit simpler but not by much, and its limitations mean that you need to employ brute force more often than not to win fights, whereas in N4 there are more juicy tactical options. Kaldstrom was a great way to be introduced to the game, though.

3. kghamilton

kghamilton The_Omnishambles
    Warcor

Great points there. I initially felt like people weren’t spending long enough playing C1 before moving to N4. But, from what I’ve noticed thus far, it really is a kiddy pool for N4 than a stand alone game.

People play the game for the complexity, and c1 is definitely more brute force. What I’ve noticed in our area, playing C1 with Guts fixes some of those issues.

4. Lawson