Can you throw smoke as an ARO if it is triggered by a moving camo marker?

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por WiT?, 25 Jul 2021.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. WiT?

    WiT? Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.025
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.409
    I see only dodge, discover, look out, reset. But some players are adamant that you can so wondering what the case is here. Cheers!
     
  2. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    "The only AROs that can be declared against a Camouflaged Marker are: Discover, Dodge, Look Out! or Reset."

    I believe their argument is that this does not apply because the grenade in question is not an attack being declared against the marker. It targets a point on the table. I think that interpretation technically doesn't work though because 3 out of those 4 AROs do not target the camo marker either yet are considered to be a declaration against it.

    On the other hand it also doesn't make much intuitive sense that a camo marker prevents a unit from using its ARO to defend itself with smoke.
     
  3. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.336
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.985
    Seems to be a pretty deliberate change to eliminate things like “I throw smoke at the camo marker” or “Mirrorball, mirrorball, mirrorball!” Or trying to place any of the various deployable items. :)
     
  4. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.348
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.393
    I didnt see BS Attack on that list.
     
    chromedog, Diphoration, fatherboxx y 4 otros les gusta esto.
  5. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.678
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.668
    I'ts a case of "I want to play a game that I state the rules"... if they ever read the N4 rules.

    Triumph has cited the only AROs allowed against a camo marker, and Papa Bey has mentioned the reason throwing smoke is not allowed: while the name was in N3 "special dodge with smoke grenades" it was never a Dodge, but a BS attack that Corvus felt was easier to understand with such name, because it lets you Face to Face all attacks at once (aside MSV) like a normal dodge.
     
  6. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.348
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.393
    I think it's more of the European style "permissive" rule set. Many people just can't believe that the rules tell you what you can do, and that nothing else is allowed. Surely I must also be able to this other thing?
     
    A chromedog y A Mão Esquerda les gusta esto.
  7. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    They probably just didn't notice the "Remember" box in the Camouflaged rule. Which is hardly their fault, since (a) it's counterintuitive that "Remember" boxes contain substantive rules rather than reminders of rules found elsewhere, and (b) the box is found in the Camouflaged rule even though it creates a rule that applies to all markers.

    For example, if you were wondering whether or not you can throw smoke in ARO against an Impersonation marker, you'd have no idea that you need to look in the Camouflaged rule to find the answer.

    If it weren't for the Remember box prohibiting it, throwing smoke or placing a deployable would be allowed in ARO against a marker, provided the reactive trooper had LoF to the marker.
     
  8. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    Eh? The only remember box under the Camouflage skill has to do with surprise attack.
     
  9. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Not the Camouflage skill rule, the Camouflaged state rule. It's got the Remember box titled "ARO against a Marker" with the bullet "The only AROs that can be performed against a Camouflage (CAMO) Marker are Discover, Dodge, Look Out! or Reset."

    Now that I look at it again, it only applies to camo markers. The Impersonation state has a similar line, but only allows Discover, Dodge, and Reset.

    So you can declare Look Out! against a camo marker but not an impersonation marker. Huh.
     
  10. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.678
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.668
    Can't talk about other parts of Europe... but in Madrid (Spain) I have yet to see anyone that has been playing games since 2017 with the "permissive" mindset...

    The spanish version on the wiki lists the four.

    Also, the PDF rulebook in english lists the four. @ijw it would seem the Remember box for allowed ARO against Impersonation State is lacking the Look Out option, as shown in the english rulebook pg 100 :S
     
    A QueensGambit le gusta esto.
  11. Papa Bey

    Papa Bey Clueless Wonder. Still.

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.348
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.393
    Yes. It "permits" you to do those four things. If it's not on the list, it's not permitted.

    A "restrictive" ruleset would have a long laundry lists of things you weren't allowed to do. You know, like how some popular games patch up holes like a dyke springing a leak.
     
  12. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.078
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Wow, really? So in Spain you guys just decide that you can move a building that's blocking LOF because the rules doesn't say you're not allowed to? Seems a bit... strange...
     
    A chromedog y Diphoration les gusta esto.
  13. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    Personally my go to move to clutch a losing game is to play this card

    [​IMG]

    Ain't nuthin that says I can't.
     
  14. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    In this case, the order sequence rules permit you to declare an ARO if you have LoF to the active trooper. The ARO label on BS Attack (with smoke) and Place Deployable permit you to declare those skills in ARO. The Requirements of BS Attack and Place Deployable provide that the skills will be successfully performed if you had LoF to the active trooper. The permissive part of the ruleset would in fact allow throwing smoke or placing a mine in ARO to a marker.

    But, the Remember boxes are restrictive rules which prevent you from declaring some AROs (any except Discover, Dodge, Look Out, and Reset) if the active trooper is a marker. If the Remember boxes didn't exist, you'd still be able to declare those four AROs, but you'd also be able to declare all the other ARO skills such as Place Deployable.
     
    A Robock le gusta esto.
  15. xagroth

    xagroth Mournful Echo

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    6.678
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    5.668
    Nope, we do the things the rulebook allows. At least, that has been happening in all my games.

    Mind you, I might have gotten the "permissive" and "restrictive" meanings reversed (it tend to happens to me when something has only its value and the opposite... Specially looking at maps and mixing East and West, but fortunately never with left and right). The idea is "only what's in the rulebook is allowed" (we have a tradition of declaring "this troop dances", or waves, or... to make an Inaction as the first short order and force ARO declaration, but that's it).

    Removing a building to have an easier time to check a LoF and then replacing said building (or repositioning a building because it was moved by accident, since no table has the scenery glued to it... and some pieces are made of very very light materials) are something else, always done with the OK of the other player both for the removal and the re-placement.
     
  16. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    5.750
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.521
    Yeah that's permissive, you had it backwards.
     
    A xagroth le gusta esto.
  17. Savnock

    Savnock Nerfherder

    Registrado:
    25 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.620
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.787
    American who just moved back from five years living and playing (Infinity and a lot of board games) in Europe here.

    You have it backwards: Americans are the ones who more frequently argue “if it’s not ruled out, I can do it,” not Europeans. It’s an artifact of America’s ridiculous legal environment, which generally behaves like that (if it’s not specifically forbidden it’s allowed, if it’s not obviously deadly and sometimes even then).

    European law is -not- like that, and Europeans do not make that assertion, in any of the tourneys I experienced in France, Germany, or Spain.

    I -have- had people make that argument in the western USA.

    It’s ridiculous, and misses the basic principle of rules design that a game needs explicit rules to -allow- any sort of action, unless you’re playing Calvinball.

    The only valid application of this reasoning is that once an action is allowed for all players/pieces, you then need an exception to prevent it in specific cases if desired. Not allowing reactive troopers to throw smoke in ARO against a camo marker is a good example of this: there is a specific rule that prevents it.
     
    A Tanan, Nuada Airgetlam y xagroth les gusta esto.
  18. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.241
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    6.557
    Well, according to how IJW suggested we handle the Protheion/Coup De Grace issue, we can probably ignore the "Remember" box.
     
  19. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.078
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    That was an example box, not a reminder box. Also, IJW has been very clear never to take an answer he's given about a specific interaction and apply it to rules he didn't directly answer.
     
    A A Mão Esquerda y QueensGambit les gusta esto.
  20. Amusedbymuse

    Amusedbymuse Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    1 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    562
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    417
    Wow... You are at it again? It wasn't IJW, it was entire rules team who decided that until faq protheion doesn't work, and now as he said faq changed it.
     
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation