Pretty simple scenario that I couldn't figure out with my opponent. Engineer approaches a TAG that is isolated and immobilized. Enemy with long range E/M ammo sees the engineer (anything with E/M grenades such as Emily Handelman, for example) Engineer successfully repairs the TAG and chooses to remove its negative states. Emily successfully hits with an E/M grenade. The TAG fails its saves and is isolated and immobilized. So is the TAG isolated and immobilized or not? Does the repair occur and then the damage occur, meaning the TAG is isolated + imm? Or does the damage occur and then the repair occur, meaning the TAG is fine? Usually things happen simultaneously in this game, but that doesn't really help me understand how this resolves out.
https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threads/forward-observer-and-reset.39307/#post-393278 https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...arat-walking-in-to-the-bar.39575/#post-401225 https://forum.corvusbelli.com/threa...e-fire-e-m-grenades-in-zoc.39683/#post-403473 :-)
To save another thread, a prothieon guy in the NWI state deals/gains a wound and takes a wound at the same time. So he would die, then regain a wound but be dead so it overall just means he's dead?
I always figured it would work that way. Same with getting Doctored and taking a wound in the same order. If the trooper starts the order in Unconscious (or NWI) state, and takes a wound, that triggers one of the activation clauses of the Dead state. So if we apply the effects of the attack and the doctor simultaneously, then the doctor cancels the Unconscious state and the attack applies the Dead state. The trooper is no longer Unconscious, but is Dead. Being Dead, it's removed from the table and it no longer matters that it's not Unconscious anymore. But, that reasoning would have applied in N3 as well, but I think the ruling/FAQ was that effectively we read Doctor as "cancel Unconscious by healing one wound" and Dead as "activated if the trooper has lost one more wound beyond the Unconscious state." So we first apply both effects, give the trooper +1-1=0 wounds, then check States and conclude that it still has one wound and is in the Unconscious state but not the Dead state. If that's (still) correct, then the same would apply to Protheion I think. I've searched the N4 threads and can't find anything that answers it, but I suspect there won't be any appetite for the interpretation that says you simultaneously get healed and die, although I kind of like it :-)
Yes, he suffers the states again, because https://infinitythewiki.com/Trooper_Activation#Order_Expenditure_Sequence In this instance, I would apply the effect of the successful Engineering roll, and then the TAG needs to make the saving rolls. I say this for two reasons: First, it's the order it was redacted in and nothing suggest otherwise. Second, it's a "make rolls the last thing". Not the same thing, it's more like a Doctor in NWI that self-heals while suffering a wound, and it's a "lost for gained" situation. Anyway, since it's on NWI, it can gain 2 or more "charges" of Protheion, so following my previous answer, the unit would gain a wound and stop being on NWI, and then fail his saving roll... going back to NWI
Gaining wounds thanks to Protheion is in all circumstances occurring at the same time. This typically doesn't matter all that much, just a thing to keep in mind in case someone tries to assign or remove states by showing preference to gaining or losing wounds. Note that being hit by Shock ammo while gaining a wound from Protheion or Doctor or other source while in any form of Unconscious State will still cause the effects of Shock - cancelling the Unconscious state and passing the user to Dead regardless of how many wounds were gained by Protheion/Doctor/Paramedic.
Ok. Resolve everything that requires a roll. THEN resolve all saving rolls. THEN resolve anything that occurred because of those save rolls. Am I getting that straight?
Step 5, 5.1 and 5.2. They removed step 5 in the old sequence and put it into the start of the Resolution step, so Resolution is step 5 now ;)