ARO chart as of FAQ 1.1.1

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por QueensGambit, 17 Jun 2021.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Mostly for my own interest, I've put together this chart of how (I think) AROs currently work, as of FAQ 1.1.1.

    In all these scenarios, the active Trooper A activates and Moves. We check whether the reactive Trooper R has LoF to A (we probably already checked, since we can check at any time). We measure to see whether R is in A's ZoC (we can only do this after A has finalized his Move). The next steps depend on whether there is LoF and/or ZoC. For simplicity, A and R don't have hacking programs, Stealth, or Guard.

    Edit: the below is an update version to account for AROs which aren't BS Attack, but require LoF.

    No LoF, no ZoC

    R is not permitted to declare any ARO.

    LoF, no ZoC

    R may declare any ARO. If he declares a ZoC ARO or CC Attack, the ARO will become an Idle unless A moves into ZoC or sil contact with his second short skill.

    ZoC, LoF blocked by scenery

    R may declare any ARO except BS Attack. An ARO that requires LoF will become an Idle unless A moves into LoF with his second short skill. A CC Attack ARO will become an Idle unless A moves into sil contact.

    ZoC, LoF blocked by a Zero Visibility Zone

    R may declare any ARO. An ARO that requires LoF will become an Idle unless A moves into LoF with his second short skill. A BS Attack ARO will also not become an Idle if A declares BS Attack against R (using MSV) as his second short skill. A CC Attack ARO will become an Idle unless A moves into sil contact.

    If R declares a template attack, the template is placed immediately, through the zero viz zone. However, the attack will still be converted to an Idle unless A moves into LoF or declares a BS Attack against R. If one of those does happen, then the template attack will be valid and will hit any enemies in its area of effect.
     
    #1 QueensGambit, 17 Jun 2021
    Última edición: 19 Jun 2021
    SubOctavian, Santyagass, Zewrath y 11 otros les gusta esto.
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.155
    That all matches my current reading of the rules as they stand.
     
    A Diphoration, Mahtamori y QueensGambit les gusta esto.
  3. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    Missing situation: "No ZoC, LoF blocked by a Zero Visibility Zone".
    Missing info about mods to BS Attack and dodge depending mentioned LoF and visibility situations.
    Thus anyone who does not already know it still need to consult with rulebook.
     
  4. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    That's covered by "No ZoC, no LoF."

    My aim isn't to replace the rules, only to summarize how declaration and resolution currently work.
     
    A Diphoration le gusta esto.
  5. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    Really?
    https://infinitythewiki.com/Visibility_Conditions#Zero_Visibility_Zone
    "Any Trooper who is the target of a BS Attack into, through, or out of a Zero Visibility Zone may respond to the attacker, provided the Trooper is facing the attacker."

    Such a summarizing should give a complete and reliable picture. Yours, in its current state, does not give either one or the other.
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    That's (essentially) "LOF, no ZOC" with a MOD, though?
    (You don't actually have LOF, but for most practical purposes you do)
     
  7. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    Not my words: "That's covered by "No ZoC, no LoF."" ;)
    In the situation described by the author as "LOF, no ZOC", also no information about possible BS Attack respose .
     
  8. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Ok, well, thanks for your opinion, I guess. Feel free to write your own summary if you prefer.
     
  9. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    19 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    809
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    630
    This is extremely useful. Thank you. Sent a couple people who were uncertain in my meta this as this has the significant changes to the preemptive aros situation. So cheers.
     
    A QueensGambit le gusta esto.
  10. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Keeping in mind that A moves as the first skill, as per the original post, A still hasn't shot through the ZVZ. So the rule you quoted isn't actually in effect.
    Step 2: covered by no LOF, no ZOC
    Step 3: A shoots, I guess?
    Step 4: covered by LOF, no ZOC.
     
    A Dragonstriker y QueensGambit les gusta esto.
  11. Qwerinaga

    Qwerinaga Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Mar 2020
    Mensajes:
    142
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    I don’t argue with that. I just noticed that the author did not give a complete picture of the topic he declared - "how AROs currently work".
    That can lead an ignorant person into a fatal(for his trooper) mistake. Such mistakes spoil the impression of the game for both players.
     
  12. Time Bandit

    Time Bandit Vulnerability (Total)

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2019
    Mensajes:
    474
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.037
    Great summary QueensGambit, really appreciated. Stealing it (credited) for my local FB group if that's okay.
     
    A QueensGambit le gusta esto.
  13. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Absolutely, I claim no IP over it :-)
     
    A Time Bandit le gusta esto.
  14. shokeyshah

    shokeyshah Active Member

    Registrado:
    8 Ago 2019
    Mensajes:
    29
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    40
    Edge case:

    A moves into LoF of R, furthermore A has the optional skill guard. R may declare any ARO, including CC Attack, which will be converted to Idle unless A declares CC Attack which specifically allows the reacting player to respond with a CC.

    This lets Andromeda ARO bait CC specialists.
     
  15. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Heh, that's why I specified that A and R don't have Guard in my scenario :-) I agree with you as to how it would work if they did. Guard has remained broken in every iteration of the N4 rules so far.
     
  16. Blakhart

    Blakhart Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    2 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    152
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    80
    Would these changes also affect Code One?
     
  17. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.102
    Nope, currently there are no changes to the order/aro sequence in the C1 rules.
     
  18. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Did some minor edits to account for speculative declaration of non-BS-Attack AROs that require LoF, such as Place Deployable.
     
  19. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.102
    Will a deployable be wasted if the ARO is invalid?
     
  20. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Almost certainly. The Disposable rule says that the deployable is wasted "if a Skill has been declared illegally." "Illegal declaration" isn't defined in the rules, but would seem to refer to a Skill being declared but then failing its Requirements at Resolution. Technically that's an error in the wording of the Disposable rule since it's not illegal to declare the Skill, but nonetheless I think that's what's intended.
     
    A toadchild le gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation