Look Out! and Prone

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by inane.imp, Mar 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    After making a successful Dodge roll as part of Look Out are you, while adjusting LOF, permitted to cancel to go Prone?

    Look Out! lacks the Movement Label but you're making a Dodge roll and Dodge has the Movement Label.

    I think the answer is no.
     
  2. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    I think the answer is "No" as well, because Look Out is specifying "modify their LoF without displacing".

    Would something like "make a face to face or normal PH-3 roll (subject to the same modifiers as Dodge)" be more or less confusing that what CB wrote?
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  3. Triumph

    Triumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    6,521
    That's how I interpreted it as well, "displacing" meaning any change in the area the silhouette originally occupied.
     
  4. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    Mahtamori likes this.
  5. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    Less confusing (although the way you wrote it implies that a Look Out roll without LOF would be on PH-6).

    The issue is a "Dodge roll" implies that they're performing a Dodge with a restriction that they can't displace.

    Which is the argument @Leviathan makes in this thread: https://forum.corvusbelli.com/index.php?threads/38718/

    There's also the question of whether Look Out allows you to cancel IMM.
     
    #5 inane.imp, Mar 11, 2021
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2021
  6. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    @Mahtamori can we add this to the Answered Questions thread, or rather the thread I link above where IJW actually answered it.
     
    chromedog likes this.
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    15,387
    Let me think about what complexity that thread should bring up. To me the rules are pretty clear (anyone who came to the conclusion that modifying LOF doesn't include the 2" movement should be able to figure out that modifying LOF also doesn't allow altering silhouette). Problem is that the more answers populate the thread the harder it is to find.
     
    inane.imp likes this.
  8. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    I think the frequency of it being asked is a good standard. This hasn't been asked recently, so I can see leaving it behind.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation