D-Charges semantic and rules consistency

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Diphoration, Apr 12, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    Greetings,

    D-Charges in CC-Mode have the following text in the wiki entry.
    https://infinitythewiki.com/D-Charges
    "To be able to use a D-Charge as a CC Weapon, the user must be in or enter Silhouette contact with an enemy Trooper."
    D-Charges also have a CC Weapon profile.

    CC Attack has the following text in the wiki entry.
    https://infinitythewiki.com/CC_Attack
    "Be in Silhouette contact with an enemy Model or Target."

    In a mission like Mindwipe where you need to destroy the enemy's server, it says...
    https://assets.infinitythegame.net/downloads/itsrules/season12/en/v1.0/season12.pdf
    "The Servers can only be damaged by CC Attacks with CC Weapons possessing the Anti-materiel Trait, with D-Charges, or with the Special Hacking Program: Data Erasure."

    - - - - -

    Is it intended that using D-Charges in CC Mode in not a valid action versus the servers in this mission? (My assumption is that it should be usable, especially since the wording from D-Charges is a copy paste from N3 and in N3 it was explicitely the only way to use the D-Charges versus the objectives, so I'd be surprised if the intention changed with no wording change, but who knows)

    Suggestion for the wiki in that case @ijw perhaps changing the wording to be "with an enemy Model or Target" in the D-Charges page as well if that would reflect the intended way the rules are meant to be.

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,157
    Wouldn't you be using it in place deployable mode against the servers?
     
  3. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    It may be because destructible objectives aren't in the base rules. So an enemy Trooper is the only thing you'd be able to CC anyway. I share your assumption that they can be used in cc mode against the objective - it would be too weird an exception otherwise.

    A cc expert would rather use them in cc mode because you get a chance to crit, with no downside.

    Also you can get order efficiency with the gang up bonus on occasion.
     
    Diphoration likes this.
  4. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    From my reading of the sentence "The Servers can only be damaged by CC Attacks with CC Weapons possessing the Anti-materiel Trait, with D-Charges, or with the Special Hacking Program: Data Erasure." it should basically read like this...

    The Servers can only be damaged by...
    • CC Attacks with CC Weapons possessing the Anti-materiel Trait
    • D-Charges
    • with the Special Hacking Program: Data Erasure
    However, D-Charges definitely counts as CC Weapons possessing the Anti-material Trait. (And it is relevant for the bonuses cited by @QueensGambit)
     
  5. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    858
    Enemy server are not enemy model or target. They are the server in the enemy deployment zone. But they are simply scenery elements, that are not part of your opponent's army list.

    Hence the only way to play imo is to ignore any wording that would restrict your action to enemy troopers only, in any rules. Ie. Play as if the scenery was an enemy trooper. But that might be me being too simplistic. Simplistic is fine for casual play, but forum are looking for more hard evidence conclusions.
     
  6. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    My main reason for wanting clarification is that it really looks like an oversight to me.

    Given how the wording is -exactly- the same as N3, and that in N3 the FAQ explicitly said it was "CC Attack Only", but if we go strict RAW, then essentially it's the exact opposite. While it's a new edition, it would seem weird to do a full 180 on intention without changing any words.
     
    Robock likes this.
  7. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,157
    There doesn't seem to be a restriction to using placed D-Charges, so why wouldn't you be able to use them in either mode?
     
    Dragonstriker and Papa Bey like this.
  8. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    This is the point of contention.

    D-Charges in CC-Mode have the following text in the wiki entry.
    https://infinitythewiki.com/D-Charges
    "To be able to use a D-Charge as a CC Weapon, the user must be in or enter Silhouette contact with an enemy Trooper."
    D-Charges also have a CC Weapon profile.

    Where it doesn't say "Model or Target", but "enemy Trooper", which the Server isn't.
     
  9. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,157
    Sure, but that's a general rule, the scenario then states you can use D-Charges, which is in addition to the general rules for using D-Charges.

    Just feels like you're trying to make this more complex than it actually is.
     
  10. Cannon Fodder

    Cannon Fodder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    671
    He's in my LGS. Basically can you use CC mode against a structure with the hopes of getting crit for an extra B. There are several models with CC 20+ which would make it still automatic with a chance of +1B.
     
  11. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    It's 1 extra Save in the case of a crit, not extra burst. However, you can get an extra burst via having multiple trooper in base to base with the server. (And if somehow a Martial Arts 5 trooper gain access to D-Charges)

    I made that thread to make sure I give you the closest RAW possible answer, and suggest that the rules be clarified. (After you pointed out the contentious point I lifted in the original post, lol.)
     
  12. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    9,340
    Likes Received:
    17,157
    Seems like, the rules say you can use D-Charges on the servers and doesn't specify which mode you have to use.
     
    Diphoration likes this.
  13. Diphoration

    Diphoration Well-Known Member
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    2,542
    Valid observation, and it being a more narrow application than the global D-Charge rule would make sense that it overrides the original text to allow them to be used even in CC. :+1:
     
  14. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3,711
    Likes Received:
    3,707
    You can use D-Charges. If there is no limitation, you can use D-Charges as you wish.
     
    colbrook and JoKeR like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation