I put an order down to place a CrazyKoala. When I declare the order I declare where to put the Koala(Yes? No? The FAQ of deployables on p2 would suggest so) Do I measure before to see where my ZoC is and then place it? Can I measure ZoC at any time? (And for example check if my Nanopulser will reach the enemy?) Or do I place it, hope it is inside ZoC and check in the resolution step? And if it is outside, will i loose one use of it since it is disposable? I am confused to how these rules interact and which take precedence.
For Koalas the situation is clearer than with mines, where it is not clear when you place the template down since mines don't use zone of controls. Zones of Control are measured during step 6 of the Order Expenditure Sequence https://infinitythewiki.com/Trooper_Activation#Order_Expenditure_Sequence Together with the FAQ entry on placing deployables: When using Place Deployable and declaring where the Deployable will be placed, what happens if a Trooper moves into that space before the Conclusion of the Order? The Trooper that declared Place Deployable may place the Deployable in a different position (still following the Place Deployable rule), and if this is not possible, the Deployable will be lost. Step 1.2: You presumably declare a Move. Step 2: Opponent declares an ARO, presumably their Camouflage Marker does not want to declare an ARO. Step 3: You declare that you are using the skill Place Deployable. You declare that it is a CrazyKoala and where you want to place it. Step 4: Presumably your opponent has no further AROs. Step 5: You check that your opponent has had an ARO opportunity. Step 6: You check your opponent's and you Koala's Zone of Control. a. If your Koala is violating the placement restrictions you may attempt to place it in a new legal spot. (E.g. the camouflage marker is inside the Koala's Zone of Control) b. If your Koala can't be placed in a legal spot due to placement restrictions, your Koala is consumed and will not be placed on the table Edit: On second thought; the FAQ entry deals only with units moving into the spot and should probably not extend to Camouflage Markers just being Camouflage Markers.
Just to clarify: You are saying that I cannot check on beforehand where I am allowed to place the Koala, and if it is found to have been placed illegally I do not get to change the position, I just loose it and do an Idle?
Pretty much, yeah. That includes if you put the Koala accidentally too close to the edge of your own Zone of Control since Perimeter Weapons need to be totally inside the Zone of Control.