Impetuous, Irregular, and Airborne Deployment

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by fkaos, Dec 10, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fkaos

    fkaos Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    44
    In N3 AD troops that came in during the impetuous phase (Yuan Yuwere able to use their irregular order the turn they arrived. Is this still true in N4?

    I haven’t been able to find in the rules anything allowing it, but it seems like people are still playing it the N3 way so maybe I am just missing something.
     
    Hecaton likes this.
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    6,040
    Likes Received:
    7,179
    Irregular Troopers don't add their Order to the Order Pool it's simply available for their use.

    "Irregular Troopers do not add their Orders to the Order Pool of their Combat Group, but instead keep them for their own use. Bear in mind that these Troopers can still receive Orders from the Order Pool."

    CJ says:

    "While off-table, the Trooper will not add their Order to the Order Pool during the Tactical Phase. However, they may enter the table using their own Order to use this Special Skill, when the player chooses."

    So, there's no reason that the YY can't simply use their Irregular Order as normal.

    What is interesting is that YYs which are made Regular due to Joan / Wallace in SoF:

    "Regular Troopers that are not on the battlefield in the form of a Model or Marker, due to Special Skills, do not add their Order to their Order Pool until they start their Active Turn on the battlefield as a Model or Marker. The status and existence of Orders provided by these Troopers is Private Information. Regular Orders provided by these Troopers can be kept secret and out of sight of the opponent.

    ... You can spend Regular Orders from your Order Pools in any order. When you activate a Trooper, you do not need to spend all Orders you plan to use on that Trooper consecutively, but can alternate between Troopers. "

    So you if you use the Impetuous Order or Regular Impetuous trooper to enter the table through Airborne Deployment you'd end up with a Regular Order that's not part of your Order Pool.

    Nothing in N4 tells you how to resolve this.

    I think the cleanest way to resolve it is to allow a Regular Order that is not part of an Order Pool to be spent on the Trooper who generated it. (In N3 it was added to the Order Pool when the Trooper arrived on the board - which I always disliked).
     
  3. Hecaton

    Hecaton EI Anger Translator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    7,241
    Likes Received:
    6,557
    @inane.imp If you look at the order generation step, however, it only talks about generating Irregular orders for models that are on the table, and only allows for spending orders of models off the table to enter the table.

    There's no wording that says "Ok, you've hit the table, now put your irregular order next to your command group's order pool. You can spend it now."

    It seems ambiguous/unclear, unfortunately.
     
    inane.imp likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation