Multiple unclear rules.

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por Alpharious, 4 Dic 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic Meme List Addict

    Registrado:
    22 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    672
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.105
    My read of that is just that templates that would affect an allied trooper are cancelled, not that they are considered to have been targeted by the template attack (which it doesn’t specify one way or the other), so from my perspective you’re reading too much into that rule as written.

    It makes sense to me that every enemy under the template is a “target” in game terms, I’m just annoyed that the rules don’t actually come out and say so clearly, up front, if that’s what is intended.
     
    A Nuada Airgetlam le gusta esto.
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Underline emphasis mine:

    https://infinitythewiki.com/Template_Weapons_and_Equipment#Area_of_Effect

    Area of Effect
    The Area of Effect of a Template is the area it covers with a single declaration of use. For example, if you declare an Attack using a Template Weapon, all Troopers or targets in Silhouette contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack.

    Edit:
    There's also overwhelming circumstantial evidence that all troopers affected by a damaging attack is a target. The rules are very clear that the target that you take measurements to is the Main Target (do a search for that term in the PDF) and in several cases refers to "other targets" in relation to template weapons, such as is the case for Intuitive Attack to name one.
     
    #22 Mahtamori, 5 Dic 2020
    Última edición: 5 Dic 2020
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  3. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    It is not an explicit statement of equivalence, but I feel like the highlighted sections treat them as equivalent classes that don’t need to be differentiated.

    Interestingly, there is no longer a core “you can’t target allies” rule; all we seem to have are per-skill exceptions with template-compatible wording.
     
  4. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic Meme List Addict

    Registrado:
    22 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    672
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.105
    The Attack label mentions it, off the top of my head.
     
  5. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic Meme List Addict

    Registrado:
    22 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    672
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.105
    “...all Troopers or targets...” implies two distinct things that are not equivalent? I think the wording quoted actually does more harm than good for the clarity on this rule.
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    An attack can't have targets if it is only the Main Target that is a target...
     
    A inane.imp y wes-o-matic les gusta esto.
  7. wes-o-matic

    wes-o-matic Meme List Addict

    Registrado:
    22 Dic 2019
    Mensajes:
    672
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.105
    Yes, but if a template can affect non-Trooper elements like an AC2 or deployed mine, the rules could mean you have a Main Target, other targets that are not Troopers, and “Troopers affected by the template” that do not meet the requirement of “targeted by the attack” to limit their ARO options to Dodge, if the intent was such.

    It could read “...all Troopers and other targets...” but does not.
     
  8. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Registrado:
    22 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.268
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8.103
    I think at this point we're all trying to read a bit too much into text that was never meant to be examined so closely. I'm going to bow out of this one, I think.
     
    A inane.imp y Mahtamori les gusta esto.
  9. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Other places do not mention Troopers separately. Intuitive Attack just has "Against other targets affected by the Intuitive Attack, it is a successful Roll instead of a Critical."
     
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation