Hacked while dismounting

Tema en '[Archived]: N4 Rules' iniciado por QueensGambit, 9 Nov 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    I activate my piloted TAG and declare Move. Opponent AROs with Oblivion. For my second action, I dismount and move the pilot.

    In Resolution, the hack succeeds and the TAG is Isolated.

    1. Is the pilot isolated? The Pilot rule says "When Dismounting from a TAG or Vehicle, any Game States that the TAG or Vehicle was in will also be applied to the Pilot (if applicable), with the exception of Unconscious." But I'm not sure whether the TAG was in the isolated state when the pilot dismounted. Does the all-at-once rule apply here?

    2. If (1) was "yes," then what if the hacking program was Carbonite? Is the pilot immobilized, despite not being hackable? Or does the "if applicable" qualification in the above rule mean that the pilot doesn't suffer the effect that's only applied to hackable targets?

    (I am picturing a turn 3 run on a supply box where you want to use the TAG's extra movement to get as close as possible to the box before the pilot jumps out to grab it.)
     
  2. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    You can't Dismount as the second action.

    Both Oblivion and Carbonite are invalid AROs vs all Pilots (which are all LI).

    That rule exists pretty much solely to resolve these sorts of problems.
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  3. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Cool, that solves that one!

    @ijw , I would suggest that this restriction should be in the Pilot section of the wiki. It's currently only in the General Movement Rules. The Pilot rule just says "By performing any Skill with the Movement Label, Pilots may Mount or Dismount their own Vehicle or TAG, and only their own Vehicle or TAG (see the General Movement Rules)" which makes it appear that you can dismount on your second action.
     
    A Mahtamori y Willen les gusta esto.
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    It's unlikely to be added to all the different pages that involve Mount/Dismount, because as you've already quoted, they say that you need to follow the General Movement Rules. Because that's where the Mount/Dismount rules are.
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  5. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Up to you, of course. My user feedback is that the way it's currently written doesn't inform the reader that they need to check the General Movement Rules. By giving what appears to be a description of how mounting and dismounting works, followed by "(see the GMRs)," it gives the impression that it's restating what's in the GMRs. The reader doesn't know that the GMRs in fact add an extra restriction to what the Pilot rule says can be done.

    It makes sense not to repeat the rule in multiple places, so my suggestion would be to replace the whole sentence in the Pilot rule with "The Pilot may Mount or Dismount their own vehicle or TAG in accordance with the GMRs" so that the reader has to go read the rule in the right place.
     
    A Mahtamori y wes-o-matic les gusta esto.
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    No, it's not up to me. I cannot arbitrarily add or change content on the wiki. :-(
     
    A chromedog le gusta esto.
  7. QueensGambit

    QueensGambit Chickenbot herder

    Registrado:
    31 Ene 2019
    Mensajes:
    2.213
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.457
    Oh, ok! I misunderstood a prior post and thought you were doing wiki edits. My bad, I wouldn't have tagged you on the suggestion otherwise.
     
    A ijw le gusta esto.
  8. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    I maintain/edit the wiki, but it still has to match the PDF!
     
    A chromedog y Willen les gusta esto.
  9. Hisey

    Hisey Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Oct 2018
    Mensajes:
    52
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    132
    Just a bit of a comment about this critique.

     
    A Ayaxs y chromedog les gusta esto.
  10. MattB89

    MattB89 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    22 Dic 2018
    Mensajes:
    303
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    345
    Incorrect, Szalamandra Pilots are Killer Hackers and so can be hacked. Pretty sure they are the only Pilots in the game that are Hackable though.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  11. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Good point. :)
     
  12. Omen

    Omen Guest

    iguana pilot is a heavy plus all the remote pilots in the non manned tags are remotes
     
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Iguana doesn't have a Pilot. She's an Operator.

    Non-manned TAGs weren't Pilots either, I forgot they had been remade into a subset of Pilots as Pilot (Remotes).

    This is what you get for being overly precise :'(
     
    A paraelix le gusta esto.
  14. Omen

    Omen Guest

    regardless of the name. do they not still follow the same rules when mounting or dismounting a tag? and they are all hackable targets.
     
  15. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    For Pilot (Remote) like a Crabbot, yes.

    For ‘Operators’, no. They can’t Mount/Dismount from their TAGs at all. They only appear on the table once the main TAG profile has been reduced to 0 STR.
     
    A inane.imp y paraelix les gusta esto.
  16. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    For Pilot (Remote) like a Crabbot, yes.

    For ‘Operators’, no. They can’t Mount/Dismount from their TAGs at all. They only appear on the table once the main TAG profile has been reduced to 0 STR.
     
  17. Omen

    Omen Guest

    Good to know thanks
     
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation