1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

N4/C1 Token Design Questions

Discussion in 'Rules' started by Lawson, Oct 1, 2020.

1. toadchild

toadchild Premeasure

Kind of off topic - nanoscreens used to be a 3d marker that only gave cover based on the physical position of the token relative to line of fire.

QueensGambit likes this.
  2. Lawson

Lawson Well-Known Member

That actually sounds cooler than it just being a reminder token now with 360 degree view. Wonder why they changed it.

3. wes-o-matic

wes-o-matic feeelthy casual

So, this was actually on my graphic design to-do list, but you did a great job with it so now I can just be lazy and do something else instead. Thanks, awesome work. :D

Some feedback:
    • Excellent job responding to community feedback and taking it into consideration. I've been a senior designer for years and you're doing solid work I'd be overjoyed with in a coworker.
    • There are some contrast issues here and there. It's most noticeable with the small gray text on an orange fill, because they have very similar luminosity—if you look at the NWI/Dogged markers in Photoshop and convert the image to grayscale, the gray text on orange virtually disappears. There are similar issues elsewhere. I strongly encourage having a look at the files in grayscale and noting where your contrast drops out because it's based on hue rather than luminosity—the dark green on the Repeater and Dazer icons is really close to the dark gray of the outer ring, for instance. Generally you want a difference of 40-50% luminosity between adjacent shapes to create adequate contrast for graphics that will be viewed small/at distance.
    • The yellow of the Irregular Order icon clashes with the orange on the Isolated markers, partially because the yellow you're using is sort of desaturated. The official Irregular Order icon in the rulebook is a gradient but it's a brighter, more lemon yellow.