Order of operations: Guts and Deploy Equipment

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by Mahtamori, Oct 5, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
    Little bit of background; in the first game of N4 I played I had no less than two opportunities to move into the space of a mine being deployed and in hindsight this would've been a very smart thing to do, if unwelcome surprise to my opponent. Now, the rules are fairly clear compared to N3 that moving into the space of a mine with the second Short Skill is a valid way of cancelling it, if this thought ever occurred to you and you start digging in the rules for if it is okay or not, but...

    Question: When a player deploys their mine and the opponent is forced to make a Guts Roll, which happens first; Guts movement or Mine placement? Here's a few solutions I can see.
    A, mine priority: The piece of equipment happens first, mechanically simultaneous to when Guts is rolled for and will be resolved by the time comes to move.
    B, movement priority: The Guts movement happens first, since movement has priority in the rules.
    C, active priority: Dodge rule shows how resolution of effects are meant to be handled; active player's effects resolve first, then reactive player, so effectively only the active player can make a Guts movement into the position of an opponent's mine being placed.
     
  2. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    Guts rolls are taken in the Conclusion step, the mine is placed in the effects step. See page 21.
    So the guts move can’t block a mine or deployable.
     
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
    That would merely shift the question to "Dodge or mine first?" (which was what I wrote initially), but see page 87 (emphasis as written in the book):

    • The Token is placed at the Conclusion of the Order in which the Trooper declared this Skill. The enemy may only react against the Trooper that declares the Skill, not against the Weapon or piece of Equipment that is placed on the table during that Order or ARO.
     
  4. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,268
    Likes Received:
    8,102
    Do you mind clarifying the first part? I’m not actually sure where any rules would be governing what happens when a move skill and place deployable skill overlap.
     
  5. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
    The Deployable is placed in the conclusion of the order (bold emphasis from the rulebook), and there is a section in the Order Expenditure Sequence that is called "conclusion" which is after all miniatures have moved, after they have rolled, and concurrent with Guts Rolls.
     
    toadchild likes this.
  6. darthchapswag

    darthchapswag Shandian Strike Team

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    239
    Surely it would be placed just next to (but not in base contact with) the trooper that had dodged/moved into the designated Deployable location?
     
  7. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    15,378
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation