AD and off the board orders

Discussion in '[Archived]: N4 Rules' started by radka, Oct 5, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. radka

    radka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    If a Yuan Yuan(or Duroc) uses their impetuous activation to deploy onto the board either through Combat Jump or Parachutist are they allowed to keep and spend their irregular order?

    Can you use a coordinated order to deploy models using Combat Jump or Parachutist? If you can and models are deployed in this way do they keep any irregular orders they have? For example coordinating four Bashis with Parachutist, will they keep their irregular orders?
     
  2. Stampysaur

    Stampysaur Wallace is my LT

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    118
    I thought they could but i cannot find where that occurs. It was previously (n3) listed under impetuous, but now i see nothing.


    No.
     
  3. radka

    radka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    In N3 the impetuous rules explicitly called out that the orders were kept, that language is missing in N4. However I think the text on page 19 for irregular orders, and the remember box on page 23 in the order count section, both support that irregular orders are kept with the trooper:
    irregular.png
    remember.png


    Someone has tried to make the case to me that the off table orders can only be used to deploy the model, but I am not sure if that is supported.
     
    #3 radka, Oct 5, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2020
    WarHound likes this.
  4. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    For what it's worth, in N3 it was FAQ'd that the irregular order in that case was only able to be used to enter the table, and you ended up with an unusable order if you used a coordinated order to enter instead.

    But that was based on N3's wording:
    As long as they are off the game table, AD troopers add no Orders to their respective Order Pools. However, an undeployed AD trooper still generates an Order usable only to deploy with Airborne Deployment.

    vs.
    • While off-table, the Trooper will not add their Order to the Order Pool during the Tactical Phase. However, they may enter the table using their own Order to use this Special Skill, when the player chooses.
    which doesn't say that that's the only thing you can use that order for.
     
  5. dalaule

    dalaule Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    31
    From p. 23, Order Count, Irregular Orders:
    "Then, for each Irregular Trooper deployed on the table, as a Model or Marker, that is not in a Null State, the active Player places an Irregular Order Token on the table, making it clear which Combat Group the Irregular Order belongs to."

    And further down, Remember (2):
    "Orders of Troopers that have yet to be deployed on the table either as Models or Markers (for example, due to the Combat Jump Special Skill) do not contribute to their Order Pool. Undeployed Troopers' Orders are Private Information, so their player can keep their Orders secret and out of sight of the Opponent."

    So it seems the only say to use the Order (Irregular or Not) of an off-the-table Parachutist is to deploy them using their own order. If you don't, you essentially lost their order, as it is not counted at the start of the turn. Am I reading it right?
     
  6. solkan

    solkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    You seem to be jumping from "aren't contributed to the order pool" to inventing restrictions on what those orders can be used for, or that they can't be used.

    That's confusing, because in the previous edition when they meant that they orders could only be used one way, they said so.

    Especially when the rules are saying that you do still generate those orders. "Undeployed Trooper's Orders are Private Information, so their player can keep their Orders secret and out of sight of the Opponent." If you have to hide them, it means that they were generated.
     
  7. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    7,353
    Likes Received:
    14,845
    Assuming this is a continuation of the FB conversation, my answer is the same - it’s very unlikely that Impetuous Troopers that land using their Impetuous activation are intended to lose their normal Order, and unless it’s confirmed as a change by @HellLois I recommend playing it the same as in N3.
     
  8. radka

    radka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks. I hadn't read the FB post but I think I was in dialog with someone who had.
     
  9. dalaule

    dalaule Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    31
    I might be jumping to conclusions, yeah.. but if orders aren't being kept track of somewhere, how does the game know those orders exist and are available to be used? Is there a hidden "off the table orders" pool you guys use? I've not used much Combat Jump or TO: Camo/Hidden Deployment models in N3, so their playstyle and rules are a bit hazy to me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation