Just wanted to check this one to see if anything has changed from N3; Can a lieutenant deploy in Hidden Deployment without causing the army to enter loss of lieutenant? Loss of lieutenant is activated when the lieutenant 'did not deploy' (p.23). Hidden deployment allows the user to deploy in the hidden deployment state (p.98) without placing a model or marker on the table. Although the trooper is considered to not be on the game table at all (p.98), it has definitely deployed. I expect there might be a bit of text outside those two pages that I'm missing here. Or does this offer a new lease on TO camo lieutenants?
I think those are the only relevant rules, to my knowledge. Cutter and Anathematic are free to command, for now. My guess is that scenarios like Decapitation will feature a tightened LoL condition if this isn't immediately errata'd.
Checking the rules for each of the various orders, it looks like a hidden cutter lieutenant would get: their own regular order, which is not public the lieutenant order, which remains public (i.e. the opponent would know there was no lieutenant +1 orders) not their tactical awareness order, which requires the cutter be on the table as a model or marker
Also to note: as far as I can tell, there are only three hidden deployment lieutenants left in the game: Cutter, Anathematic, Shinobu Kitsune. That makes this feel much more intentional.
He was just removed until wave 2, but Diomedes had a lieutenant drop trooper profile. That's a similar situation.
Unfortunately the drop troop rule is quite specific that a trooper using combat jump is not deployed until they arrive using the skill (p.93). This is different from a trooper using Hidden Deployment. So Diomedes would need to give up his combat jump in N4 if he retains a lieutenant profile.
From a previous thread, there's a clause in the Lieutenant skill: If, during the Tactical Phase of the Turn, the Lieutenant is in an Isolated or any Null State (Unconscious, Dead, etc.) or has not been deployed on the gaming table, the Loss of Lieutenant rule will be applied (page 23).
Seems like one of those two entries needs to be edited to be like the other. That's on page 102 of the N4 rules, BTW.
The intro mission finishes on p13, p23 is the ‘full’ rules. It has to be, Loss of Lieutenant only exists in the full rules! ;-) There is/will be a note on the N4 LoL page about it, saying to read the LT rule as well.