1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Law Dawg slowly paints Yu Jing, Defiance

Discussion in 'Miniatures' started by Law Dawg, Jun 2, 2020.

1. Law Dawg

Law Dawg Well-Known Member

I'm a slow painter and I get impatient. My main goal is to paint to high table top quality.

So first up is the Kuangshi set. I started these guys in April and just finished them yesterday. Overall I'm quite pleased with the result. I'm also getting better at blending the shading in the armour parts. They could use a bit more contrast and edge highlights but I'm calling them done because I'm getting sick of them.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    There's nothing worse than having primed the mini and getting the base colours down only to realise that I somehow missed an obvious mold line on the ass
    [​IMG]
    Also I hate painting guns. Don't know why but it's my least favourite thing to paint on a mini.

2. Oni

Oni Well-Known Member

Super cool Kuang Shi´s. Nice work.

For that you hate to paint guns they look very nice. (Btw. I also hate painting guns:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:).

archangeleong and Law Dawg like this.
  3. archangeleong

archangeleong Deadly Ninja Assassin

me too! I hate painting guns the most on minis!

Oni likes this.
  4. Law Dawg

I finished my Daoying hacker for Koin-Koin's June painting group. I wanted to do this model justice so I spent a bit more time on her. My photo app does this weird thing of increasing the contrast of the colours so the blending doesn't look as smooth as in real life . It is also the first time I use MIG pigment for a bit of brown dust on the base. I hope you like what I've done!
    [​IMG]
    I like how the back carapace turned out. I'm thinking of using that scheme for the guns in the future.
    [​IMG]
    Also the light grey parts on the legs should look a lot less blue. Next time I will spend more time adjusting the colours on the photos.
    [​IMG]