Engineer and its G:Servant move base to base with friendly unconscious-1 TAG and declare Engineer skill to repair it. What happens?
nothing extra. Just a normal repair check using the engineer wip. Are you looking for anything in particular?
Either the Engineer or the G:Servant perform the Engineer skill. In either case use the Engineer's WIP. Basically think of the G:Servant as a remote surgical device. The Dr/Engineer still needs to declare the skill, it just has an effect on a target remote from the declaring Trooper.
Both Engineer and G:Servant declare skills. So in this case, TAG is targeted by two engineer skill checks. “The Doctor/Engineer and the G: Servant trooper must declare the same Order, declaring the same Short Skills of the Order”
@Tanan the relevant rule for this is the section covering use of Doctor/Engineer via Servants. Here is the full text of that section: http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Ghost_(G)#G:_Servant_and_Doctor_and_Engineer_Special_Skills G: Servant and Doctor and Engineer Special Skills Thanks to this Special Skill, a trooper with G: Servant can cancel the Unconscious state of another trooper, recover STR points, and perform all the capabilities of the Doctor and Engineer Special Skills, even though they lack them. However, when using this Special Skill, it will be the Doctor/Engineer who makes the corresponding Roll. Players cannot apply the Doctor/Engineer Special Skills to different targets in the same Order. The Doctor/Engineer Special Skills can only be applied to one target per Order. The G: Servant trooper must meet all respective requirements to use the Doctor/Engineer Special Skills remotely. Note the text that I've marked in red. The Servant never makes Doctor/Engineer rolls, because it doesn't have those Skills. It's the Servant's Controller that has the Skill, the Servant just lets the Controller use their Skill remotely. See also the FAQ about Immobilized Engineers, which reinforces that the Servant does not perform the Engineer Skill. Q: Can I use G: Servant to cancel Immobilized state from his linked Engineer? A: No. As the G: Servant trooper doesn’t have the Engineer Skill it is the G: Servant’s Controller who is performing the Engineer Skill, and this cannot be done while in Immobilized state.
Is there a rule that prevents a model from making two or more same skill checks during an order? There is a sentence that prevents the use of engineer on two different targets. Does this implicitly allow two engineer skills on the same target? There is a limitation for declaring orders, but that rule isn’t in play in this case.
The Engineer has declared Engineer once. If you want that to involve two Rolls, you need to provide a rules quote that says they can roll twice.
The engineer and G:Servant have both declared Engineer once. For the purposes of order execution, it doesn't matter who makes the rolls. I could also argue that the sentence "The Doctor/Engineer Special Skills can only be applied to one target per Order", allows multiple Engineer and Doctor Skill rolls assuming that they have the same target.
Please provide rules text saying that the Engineer can roll twice for one Skill declaration. The Servant doesn't get to roll, period.
G:Servant declares the order. Engineer just makes the roll. There are restrictions on declaring orders, but not for rolling skill rolls. If there were a rule that said that trooper can't make two dodge rolls, it would be different thing. Please provide rules text saying that the Engineer can't roll two Engineer rolls during an Order.
I don't understand your argument. The Servant declares the Skill, but doesn't get to roll for it, because the Servant is not performing the Skill. The Controller is the only Trooper performing the Skill. The Controller cannot perform the Skill twice in one Order because they cna't declare it twice in one Order. This is nonsensical. This is the Engineer Skill: By declaring Engineer the user may make a Normal WIP Roll to repair the target and have it regain 1 Structure point. The user may declare uses of this Special Skill until the target has recovered its full STR. A roll. It doesn't contain any text saying that you can roll twice, and neither does any part of the G: Servant rule.
So you are saying that the following sentence is meaningless: "Players cannot apply the Doctor/Engineer Special Skills to different targets in the same Order."? Even if players could apply the Doctor/Engineer Special Skills to different targets in the same Order, it still wouldn't work because only one skill roll could be made?
Tanan, that is there to prevent a crafty player from going into BTB with two damaged units and trying to apply the same roll to both at the same time. The Servant doesn't have the Engineer skill and can't perform the Engineer skill even if it declares it.
Err... You should really learn the Order structure. http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Structure_of_an_Order Any Order can consist of either: 1) An Entire Order Skill (Speculative Fire, Triangulated Fire, Camouflage (entering back into token), Cautious Movement, Jump (without Super Jump), Climb (without Climbing+)); 2) Two Short Movement Skills (Move, Jump w/ Super Jump, Climb w/ Climbing+, Discover); or 3) A Short Movement Skill and a Short Skill in any order. Where Short Skill is BS Attack, CC Attack, Place Deployable (Mine, Deployable Repeater, etc.) and so on. Now, Doctor and Engineer are Short Skills. http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Engineer That means you CANNOT declare Engineer+Engineer to roll 2 dice to fix your Jotum, Marut or whatever other TRBot. Same as you can't declare BS Attack + BS Attack to roll 8 dice with your Swiss Guard HMG to annihilate everything. As for Palbots and G: Servants in general - if you look into their profile, you'll see that they don't have a Doctor or an Engineer skill. The only way you can use these skill with them is by declaring them through their controller, using G: Servant rules.
@Mahtamori so if the "Players cannot apply the Doctor/Engineer Special Skills to different targets in the same Order." was written in a way that it could target multiple targets, that wouldn't work because only one skill roll could be made? Just clarifying your position here.
Actually, to be allowed to do something, you need a rule for that. To be allowed to roll twice you need a rule for it. That line you are quoting is for forbiding an engineer to roll once and use it on 2 targets at once (one targetted by him, and one by its servant)
It’s there because in N2 players were arguing that the Engineer could make one roll and apply it to two targets.