1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lawdawg slowly paints Yu Jing

Discussion in 'Yu Jing' started by Law Dawg, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Law Dawg

Law Dawg Well-Known Member

Inspired by @archangeleong, I have decided to put more work into painting my minis. I am no where near his skill level but I'm trying to motivate myself to improve. I just finished the Beyod RV Daofei and Zhanying. From the photos, I can see that I need to work on my blending skills. I am a slow painter and I tend to lose patience. The Zhanying unfortunately has a bad undercoat (I didn't shake the spray can long enough), but I didn't feel like stripping it and doing it again. The minis look fine on the table but the camera seems to emphasize all the areas that aren't blended well.

For the colours I opted for a bright orange with yellow-orange highlights for the armour and purple for the cloth. The urban digital camo was hard to paint!
    200403_165445_COLLAGE-1.jpg 200403_170059_COLLAGE-1.jpg

I'm fairly happy with the result of both minis. The purple cloth looks much darker in real life than the photos show. I'll have to play around the camera settings a bit.

Up next is Beyond RV Guilang with MSR.

redeemer, Myomer, WhiteWulfe and 9 others like this.
  2. the huanglong

the huanglong Well-Known Member

Nice. That Zhanying BCR is one of the nicest models in the range

3. zapp

zapp Well-Known Member

I recently painted digital camo myself, so I can feel your pain, well executed!

4. Chaserabinov

Chaserabinov Well-Known Member

Great job, especially on the digital camo. I also like the colors You used in on the Zhanying. Keep up the good work :)

archangeleong likes this.
  5. archangeleong

archangeleong Deadly Ninja Assassin

They look pretty dang cool to me! Camo is well done (I feel your pain as it’s hard to do). Hope to see more guys painted soon :-)

6. Law Dawg