Can I intuitive attack an Impersonation Marker?

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por DaRedOne, 11 Feb 2020.

Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  1. DaRedOne

    DaRedOne Morat Warrior Philosopher
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.554
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.641
    Simple question:

    Can I intuitive attack an Impersonation Marker? Intuitive Attack says it can be used on models that are not normally elligible for an attack. That would include an Impersonation Marker, but I am not sure because of how Impersonators are technically allied models.

    Any ruling on this?
     
  2. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    You may not, because you can't declare Attacks against friendly models or markers.
     
    WarHound, Dragonstriker, Keyrott y 5 otros les gusta esto.
  3. Sabin76

    Sabin76 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.708
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.086
    Tentatively, I'd say you can, as it's the marker state that disallows your attack (by treating you as an allied trooper) and the trooper can be attacked after being discovered.

    But then, it takes two discoveries to get all the way through impersonation-1... seems an intuitive attack would be pretty powerful against impersonators. Additionally, we already have to fudge the rules for intuitive attack a bit, otherwise a crit with intuitive Zappers or glue guns causes a wound :confused:.
     
  4. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    This.

    Note the differences between Camouflaged and Impersonation States.

    Camouflaged:
    IMP States:
    • Enemies cannot declare Attacks against a trooper in the Impersonation-2 state.
    So you simply can’t declare an Attack on an IMP marker, period. Not even Discover+BS Attack on IMP-2.
     
    A Dragonstriker, Keyrott y DaRedOne les gusta esto.
  5. Ashtroboy

    Ashtroboy Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    31 Oct 2018
    Mensajes:
    113
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45


    Special Maneuver: Discover + BS Attack

    The combination of Discover + BS Attack in a single Order is a special maneuver that allows the trooper to make a Discover attempt and then a BS Attack against the same enemy, but only if the Discover attempt is successful

    so how do I convince my opponent that Discover + BS attack can’t be used against an impersonation marker?

    not trying to be annoying it’s just as a newbie I struggle with convincing people especially if they are more experienced than me
     
  6. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    By pointing them towards the two clauses I quoted.

    Camouflaged State specifically mentions Discover-Attack as an exception to not being able to declare Attacks.
    IMP States contain no exceptions allowing you to declare an Attack.

    In addition:

    IMPORTANT!
    Enemies perceive an impersonator in the Impersonation-1 or Impersonation-2 state (IMP-1 or IMP-2 Marker) as an ally.


    You can't Attack allies.
     
    A JoKeR, Diphoration y Ashtroboy les gusta esto.
  7. Ashtroboy

    Ashtroboy Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    31 Oct 2018
    Mensajes:
    113
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    45
    Cheers I guess I just don’t feel confident in trying to correct people who’ve been playing longer than me especially when they say that they’ve always played it like that
     
    A Daniel Darko, ObviousGray y ijw les gusta esto.
  8. Spleen

    Spleen Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    281
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    414
    It really doesn't. I assume you're referring to this quote:

    "Enemies cannot declare Attacks against a trooper in the Camouflaged state without previously Discovering that trooper, or declaring Intuitive Attack."

    but that doesn't actually allow for discover + shoot, at the time of declaration the marker is not "previously discovered" just like at the time of doing so against an impersonator they are friendly.
     
  9. Hachiman Taro

    Hachiman Taro Inverted gadfly

    Registrado:
    16 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    1.093
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.016
    If you show them a post from IJW clarifying it on the forum, that will probably help.

    IJW playtests and sub edits for CB and maintains the wiki, so his interpretation is often considered the closest thing to an official rules answer from CB that isn't one.
     
  10. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    It's specifically referring to Discover-BS Attack.

    If it was referring to Discover in a previous Order, there wouldn't be a Camo marker to be declaring an Attack against!
     
    A Dragonstriker y Florian Hanke les gusta esto.
  11. Spleen

    Spleen Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    281
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    414
    unless you define such that any model who has had a discover declared on it is "previously discovered" then you don't meet this clause in a single order.

    for that matter, given there's no reference to "in the same order" if we accept that merely declaring discover makes a model "previously discovered" then I should be able to declare a discover in one order, fail my roll, and then shoot the camo marker in the subsequent order as it is now "previously discovered"
     
  12. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    I don't think I understand. Are you claiming that Discover-BS Attack is impossible against Camo as well?
     
  13. the huanglong

    the huanglong Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    26 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.023
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.658
    Pretty sure he's saying that the Camo rules don't permit Discover-BS Attack, the rules permitting it are elsewhere and not limited to camouflage markers.
     
  14. Spleen

    Spleen Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    281
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    414
    I'm saying if we apply the standard that the bs attack must be legal against the current state, not the resultant state after a successful discover, then yes, neither of them work.

    I'm advocating that this should not be our understanding, and we should infer from the structure and nature of discover + BS attack that the attack is declared on the resultant post discovery model, not the marker state.

    I'm pointing out that by taking a strict raw reading we break discover + bs attack entirely.
     
    Robock, Ebon Hand, Mahtamori y otra persona les gusta esto.
  15. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.685
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.683
    Apart from the statement in the rules that openly validate this particular combo against Camo markers.

    Edit: there is even the relevant example!
     
    A Dragonstriker le gusta esto.
  16. RobertShepherd

    RobertShepherd Antipodean midwit

    Registrado:
    2 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.052
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.205
    I'm struggling to wrap my head around this one a little bit. Can someone break this down for me like I'm five (going on forty)?

    Edit: ok, I think I get it. How the sentence regarding declaring attacks against camo markers should be taken to read is "you cannot declare attacks against a camo marker without previously discovering them (either during a previous order or as part of a discover+shoot action), or declaring an intuitive attack", whereas the impersonation rules are very clear: "you cannot declare attacks against an impersonation-2 marker".

    That's an incredibly easy distinction to miss for someone who just goes to the discover rules to see how it works.
     
    #16 RobertShepherd, 12 Feb 2020
    Última edición: 12 Feb 2020
    A BLOODGOD y Cloud les gusta esto.
  17. the huanglong

    the huanglong Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    26 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.023
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.658
    I still don't think the bold bit works because you don't have to discover the marker to declare shoot against it, you only have to declare discover to be able to declare shoot at it. If you interpret "discovering" as "declaring discover" you end up with the absurd situation @Spleen was talking about.

    "Enemies cannot declare Attacks against a trooper in the Camouflaged state without previously Discovering that trooper, or declaring Intuitive Attack."

    Seems this sentence does not permit the discover shoot Special Maneuver as written even when stretching English to the limit. If that's true then the rules about what is a legal target for discover shoot are under Discover, which only specifies enemy. So the question instead becomes if IMP markers are enemies for this purpose.
     
  18. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.154
    Actually it doesn't, Discover is legal against any model or marker, which is why you can Declare it against Impersonation markers.
     
    A Dragonstriker y RobertShepherd les gusta esto.
  19. Stiopa

    Stiopa Trust The Fuckhead

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.458
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    10.226
    Ok, I can see the logic behind the ruling, but I also believe this to be unnecessary difference between Camo and Impersonation. I hope N4 will deal with this.
     
  20. SpecOP6903

    SpecOP6903 Member

    Registrado:
    14 Oct 2018
    Mensajes:
    47
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    9
    So, to be clear, if I put up cyber mask, thus entering the imp2 state and start moving upfield, I can't be discover-shot? My opponent has to discover me with 1 aro then, if successful (as I'll now not be cyber masked) can shoot me on his/her next aro?
     
    A Dragonstriker le gusta esto.
Estado del tema:
Cerrado para nuevas respuestas
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation