@MindwormGames I suppose you're pointing out that even with this FAQ we have to house rule to make the Xenotech work?
That’s what I understood. And your interpretation is no more or less valid than “the Xenotech is in a position it can’t be, so remove it from the game”.
What’s there to house rule? The Mine never went off and never left the table owing to the Civilian crossing the template, so it’s location isn’t open space on the table. The Civilian can’t be in or move into that space, since the Mine’s still there.
It leaves the table when it’s triggered. It retroactively untriggers and is replaced. “Once a Mine triggers, it is removed from play.” It’s one of the reasons I don’t like the fact that this tactic doesnt just remove the mine and cancel the template. The best solution is to change the mine text to state that “Once a Mine triggers it is removed during resolution of the order”. This makes the interaction much cleaner (and is how I’ll play it).
Your still thinking about it as if you have full knowledge of the full order, You don't. it's all about timing. If I have only spent one short skill so far and moved into the mines zone will the games timing have anything happen to the mine at this point?
Just adding to this, I think that strictly mechanically, if a mine is previously discovered and triggers, it is removed and the enemy can Move into its position with second Short Skill. If the mine is not previously discovered, I don't think the camouflage marker is removed until Effects, meaning that it's not possible to Move into its position with the second Short Skill. Removing the Mine as an Effect makes a lot of sense.
Yea. It comes down to a house rule, because co-location is, as far as I understand, a dead space in the RAW. As an aside, the more I play Season X, the more I hate the Xenotech. It’s a real bonehead move, design wise. It adds little other than frustration and confusion. It’s especially weird when CB changed rules to cut back on the frustration of ‘dead’ Orders spent pushing buttons, and at the same time put in the least compelling order sink I’ve seen.
Yeah, it seems like there were multiple people involved who didn't communicate with each other that much.
@HellLois What's up with the change to AI Beacons? As deployable equipment, I was under the impression that they deployed exactly like troopers (as that's implied by the rules for deployables.) If they don't get bounced back to their controller's deployment zone upon scattering into it like troopers do, what else is different for them? Put more simply, when are they troopers and when are they not, because if they're not, a lot of other things need to change?
AI Beacons aren't "implied" to deploy with Airborne Deployment, they must deploy with Airborne Deployment: Combat Jump. Operative word in the rules is "must". No downgrading, no delaying, etc. This is the reason why AD: Combat Jump works for them, they must deploy using this skill. There is no rule for AI Beacons which deals with Dispersion when they land on a model, wall, or a small shrubbery. This means that they will be deployed just like if a Crusader Brethren landed in the same spot according to the Dispersion Rules - anywhere in along the edge of your DZ. However, there is a rule for landing outside the play field that is different from a Trooper's Dispersion. This means that if you land outside the playing field, you apply the rules for AI Beacon rather than standard Dispersion rules - mean it is Dead, unlike the Crusader Brethren.
You're mixing up Crusader Brethren and Hellcats. [emoji14] "If the dispersed element is a troop, such as one using certain Deployment Special Skills (AD: Combat Jump, Impersonation...), and the Dispersion places the troop outside of the game table, or in any location where it cannot be placed, or within the opponent's Deployment Zone, then the figure is placed anywhere within the limits of its owner's Deployment Zone in contact with one of the borders of the game table." But, yeah otherwise seems correct.