1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An Iron Testudo: Roman Themed Steel Phalanx

Discussion in 'ALEPH' started by Golem2God, Jan 26, 2019.

1. Golem2God

Golem2God Just a Kooky Kumotail serving others.

Greetings Aleph players,

I've been thinking of buying some conversion bits and Steel Phalanx units to bring a sci-fi Roman Testudo to life on the tabletop. Since I'm new to the ways of Aleph I was wondering what unit boxes & blister packs I should buy? I was thinking of buying Myrmidons, Thorakitia & Dactyl fireteams with Hector, Thrasymedes, Machaon & Acmon. But what do you guys and gals have to say about this? What purchase path should I take and how should I build lists at teh most common levels? (150, 200, 300 & even 400 points)

I await any replies and constructive ideas. Also what color should I give my future Roman themed troops? Red, blue, green, white, purple or some other color? It doesn't have to be historically accurate since this is an Aleph recreation of a Roman force.

Sincere Thanks,
    Golem2God

2. Wolf

Wolf https://youtube.com/@StudioWatchwolf

I'm sure that would go down well at the War Crow (annual Infinity painting competition) conversion category, and - since the biggest hurdle to my game is assembling the mini.s in the first place, I'm awed by your endeavour!

Your only problem might be reoresenting the famously disciplined troop formations, since CB tend to highly individual and dramatic poses. For a colour scheme, youd probably best go with traditional Roman centurion red robes and leather kilt, to help the viewer’s expectations of the theme?

#2 Wolf, Jan 26, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
    Golem2God likes this.
  3. Golem2God