1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Off in my own world... Slumming it.

Discussion in 'Scenery' started by deathklockk, Jan 17, 2018.

1. deathklockk

deathklockk Strange, but not a stranger.

Hello fellow Ifininerdz!

This is my first project plot on this site and its (hopefully!) going to be a big one!

I have had the idea for a modular table comprising a desert planet landscape for a very long time. I'm making it into 2'x2' sections with multiple levels of craggy rock outcroppings and some buildings. Hopefully creating a complex landscape for Infinity that will still be natural formations instead of just urban buildings. It will consist of three distinct elements: rocky outcrops and valleys, shanty buildings, and cleaner but temporary buildings (representing an encroaching enemy population). The rocky areas will be what makes the table modular as the natural elements of each board edge should align with the others. They will be made with layers of foamboard and cork/spackle. The shanty town will consist of Death Ray Design's Rust Pointe buildings with extra bits added to make them extra slummy! The newer buildings will be the Forward Base portables from Anetocites.

I'm starting with the shanty town part of the table since they will be easier and allow me to start slow. I have assembled the base "box" for all twenty of the buildings I have and have added the detailed bits to six of them so far.

image.jpeg

image.jpg
    image.jpg

The strips of wood on the walls will be ledges for the windows which I left off for ease of painting.

image.jpg

I cut thin squares of plywood to fit inside the buildings and glued them under the roofs so they fit snugly onto the buildings.

image.jpg image.jpg

I also glued a few cover elements to the walls to make it easier to set up a table instead of having the small parts as separate components.

image.jpg image.jpg