Mine's Disposable trait, also about ZoC measuring

Discussion in '[Archived]: N3 Rules' started by ik3rian, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. ik3rian

    ik3rian Anti-Ariadnian Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    119
    I am experiencing troubles with explaining those rules to the new player. It's mainly because people around tend to play it their way, and i have always felt it's not right within rules but everytime we tried to fix it we were ending with getin' more confused.
    Which part of laying mines is disposable? For sure, deploying them is as you have limited amount of them on your troop. My confusion starts when i am triggering them. When i started playing few years ago, i was introduced to laying a template before measuring phase of order expenditure. It was justified by the loophole in the rules where you need to have your opponent within the trigger area which you cannot measure before the right phase. Of course, it is giving away that it is mine, and it should not be right to take measurements, we all know that.
    Problems with the RAW approach were showing up in two cases - where (after triggering after 2nd short skill) checking the template revealed that enemy model was in the trigger area after his first move, thus denying him dodge in 2nd short, and applying disposable treat to mines exploding but not catching the enemy (due to poor eyeballing).
    As i am more keen to play along with the order expenditure sequence, my question is "are mines still disposable after deploying them"? If yes, then invalid attacks cause them to dissapear as well i think. If not, null attacks would let them stay on the table anyway, right? What am i missing, guys? How is it played on the top tables?

    Second question - are Sixth sense wielding troops allowed to check zone of control range before declaring ARO? Is anyone actually allowed to do?

    Cheers
     
  2. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    You're getting confused about the terminology here. The term "Disposable" only refers to the fact that the trooper has a limited amount of them. the technical rule that removes the mine from the table after it goes off is the last bullet point under the effects box of : http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Mines

    A mismeasurement on your part only causes you to lose your ARO, which the mine doesn't really have anyway. the mine is not expended.
    Screen Shot 2018-10-03 at 12.38.10 PM.jpg

    see above image. SS lets you hold your ARO in ZoC, if you hold and the enemy isn't really in your ZoC, you lose your ARO.

    I hope this clears some things up.
     
    ik3rian likes this.
  3. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    The equipment that the unit is carrying is what is disposable - i.e. the thing that allows you to spawn mines on the table.
    This isn't a loophole, but literally what the rules say you must do.
    As above, Mines are not disposable. Additionally, Mines do not declare attacks, they just trigger. If the Mine can't trigger, if for instance there's no enemy in the area, then it doesn't trigger and remains as is. Please also note that this means the Mine's camouflage does not get removed if the Mine triggers and that this is fully intentional.
     
    ik3rian likes this.
  4. Brother Smoke

    Brother Smoke Bureau Trimurti Representative

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    You measure the trigger area at the end of the order. If the enemy was within the trigger area, the mine goes off, if not, nothing happens
     
    ik3rian likes this.
  5. ik3rian

    ik3rian Anti-Ariadnian Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    119
    Thanks. Is declaring Idle on mines valid? Or should we say "no aro's", i think the latter is better.
    Also, do i have to inform my opponent that mine triggers before resolution, or i have to check it during the resolution step?

    Btw. ZoC measurement with Change Facing works the same way it works with Jammer, right? Declare, measure during Resolution and if it is in Zone then it is ok, if not then it's lost?
     
  6. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    Mines are not troopers, they don't declare orders at all.

    Also, just like all DTW you stick the template down as soon as the mine triggers - NOT during resolution.
     
  7. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,270
    Likes Received:
    8,107
    Wait, what? I thought mines triggered after the first skill that was declared within their trigger area. So if your first move was within range of a mine you should know you're being hit before you declare your second skill so that you know you need to dodge.
     
  8. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    Idle is never a valid ARO. http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Mines

    Furthermore, mines are not troopers and don't even get AROs. If your opponent moves past a mine in it's camo state, just simply say you have no ARO.

    correct
     
  9. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    the mine goes off as soon as something walks into it's trigger area – first or second short skill. measuring is simply done at the end.
     
  10. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,270
    Likes Received:
    8,107
    Right... except that sometimes you have to measure in order to know if it goes off or not. And also you need to put the template down right away so that the affected area of the board is visible.

    I guess the part where I'm getting stuck is that on a mine, "measuring" is done with the template, not a tape measure.
     
  11. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    A mine doesn't measure, it has no ZoC. Just stick the template down if it triggers just like you would if using a Flamethrower.
     
  12. toadchild

    toadchild Premeasure

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4,270
    Likes Received:
    8,107
    Right. But sometimes if it's very close to the edge you may put down the template and then realize the opponent is just outside the range, and then you have to pick it back up and continue play.

    I was specifically replying to

    Which I don't think is accurate.
     
  13. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    12,081
    Likes Received:
    15,389
    Yeah, you are entirely correct. There are multiple threads where this has been answered like this before.
     
  14. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    3,509
    sometimes you just gotta make the call. if it isn't, oh well. if it is, cool.
     
  15. kinginyellow

    kinginyellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    630
    You measure immediately upon the first short skill that moved them close to the trigger area. Because if they walk in on the first skill, they know about it so can declare dodge.
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation